Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I have never in 18 years made a homemade pumpkin pie, my husband had to have 2 slices. It was really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was my first attempt to make pies from a fresh pumpkin. I knew it had to be cooked, but I had no idea how to do it. The instructions at the bottom of the recipe are perfect and very easy. My pumpkin was big enough to have two dutch ovens full to cook, but they steam perfectly with the inch or two of water in the bottom of the pot. After cooling, they peeled so easily. I then put them in my electric mixer and didn't add anything and just let it mix. All the strings wrap around the beaters. Just take the beaters out and wash off. I had to do it twice per bowl. So don't rake off the pumpkin from the beaters, just take them off and wash the strings away. I also do this on my sweet potato pies. If you add any liquid, it will not remove them. We do not care for the cinnamon, nutmeg or ginger; just cooked them plain and they were magnificent. I had to cook about 50 minutes, but that could have been the difference in the ovens. I will definitely use this recipe over and over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe! I used just about this exact one last year and tried this one today as well. The only difference being that I add about 1 Tbsp of finely minced onion per 9" pie. You don't taste the onion but it sure gives the flavor some extra color, so to speak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I always add some ground cloves and allspice too...just like my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
It was great! We added a little vanilla and all spice and it turned out awesome. It doesnt quite make two pies, so we used the rest for french toast and it was a really good twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Foodies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I made this at Thanksgiving and it was not only easy to make, but very delicious! Definately a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
thanks anitam for reminding me the vanilla,also as other mentioned it needs more pumpkin for two pies and spieces need to be more also cloves needed otherwise it is good standard easy recipe i will use foreever and anon.dank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha376

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Turned out a little watery. Don't think I drained it well enough! But great Pumpkin Pie made with real pumpkin for the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queencook31

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was my first time ever making a pie of any kind. I looked through a lot of recipes the last couple days trying to find the right one. And this one seemed the best. It was easy to make. I followed this recipe exactly except added some cloves. My only issues were like some this recipe only made 1 1/4 of a pie, but I think my pie plate is a bigger one and then I used one of those small custard bowls to use up the rest. I smells delicious except that the crust smells and taste like way too much shortening it's making me gag. but we'll see how the rest taste. Hopefully good. But next time I'm going with a different crust or lessen the shortening maybe use oil or actual butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is the best recipe.....using 2% Carnation is so much creamery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States