Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This recipe is great and easy to do even for a homemade pumpkin pie. I customized the recipe for 8 servings, added a 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract and a dash of cloves. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anitam79

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Wonderful easy recipe. I followed some other's suggestions and added a pinch of allspice and cloves. The pie was a hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I have to admit, throughout the process I had my doubts about the pie turning out well. To my surprise it is the best pumpkin pie I have ever had. My reason for not giving this a five star rating is my issue that this does not make 2 pies, as I used a pumpkin a little over 1.5 lbs and it worked without scaling the rest of the ingredients to make a little too much for a 9" pie, but plenty for a 12" pie. I used another crust recipe that worked well. I really want to know if the ingredients are meant for one pie or two, as the typed instructions indicate one pie, but the recipe serving size automatically defaults to two pies. It's really amazing pie, and I'm going to try this pie again with a bigger pumpkin (I think about 3-4 lbs) and not scale the recipe at all. I'm guessing it will make two small 9" pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
awesome! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very mildly spiced. Next time I will double or triple the spices! Great recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is the best pumpkin pie I have ever had!!! I only made the filling though and bought a gram cracker crust. Instead of boiling the pumpkin I baked it the night before and then cut it away from the skin and stored it overnight in tupperware.(Also the pumpkin was the leftover from us carving & it still came out good!!) Instead of mashing the pumpkin I blended it with some of the evaporated milk which gave it a nice consistency. I also used a tablespoon of allspice instead of nutmeg and only added a few sprinkles of cinnamon and 1/2 a teaspoon of ginger. I will be making this pie again and again!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Very good! I used the Pureed Pumpkin recipe also on this site to make the pumpkin...as this was the first time I ever tried to make a pie from fresh pumpkin. I did not use the crust recipe, I bought one as I was making a few other things today and didn't want to worry about the crust. I would use this as my go-to recipe when I make pumpkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was a good recipe but I have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I made this pumpkin pie with a store bought frozen pie crust, I'm terrible at making pastry dough. I actually didn't add the condensed milk because of a lactose intolerance, and it turned out to be the most amazing pumpkin pie ever. Even friends who are used to the condensed milk versions, they LOVED IT. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xoxo_lina
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I took the lazy route and used 2 Tenderflake ready-made pie shells. With this recipe, I was able to make two pumpkin pies. I used canned pumpkin and added salt to taste. The pie was very creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States