Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Great recipe and easy to make. But, it takes much longer than 40 minutes to bake. I've made this recipe more than a dozen times (it's that good), and every single time it takes at least 10 minutes longer (probably closer to 20 minutes longer). Also, with my Kitchen Aid, I beat the eggs with the brown sugar, then add the spices and salt, then add the pumpkin, and lastly the evaporated milk. To make this in any other order I find the ingredients do not blend well. (I'm sure the order of ingredients wouldn't matter much if you an immersion blender though.) Order of ingredients is important in (almost) all recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
yummy recipe. made two pies and not one sliver was left!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Everyone loved the pie and it was my FIRST time baking anything that didn't come in a box! I had to leave it in way longer than the recipe called for and I added extras like pumpkin spice, allspice, cinnamon, vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
A definite keeper!! I will never make pies any other way. I used refrigerated pie crust, made them the day before, and served them up on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Good basic recipe. I added a half teaspoon of vanilla extract, and for some reason I had the urge to add a dollop of lemon curd that I had in the refrigerator. It worked really well, and brought some extra flavor to the pie. Everyone kept asking for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wil
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great recipe had a lot of fun. Had to add an extra cup of pumpkin to make it work for 2 pies. Great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Hate the crust.... I've never tried this recipe before so I wanted to chance it. Everything looked good and smelled good but the taste is overwhelming... Maybe I did something wrong,and if anyone or Mr. Scott could help I'd appreciate it. But it taste like straight shortening... Gross... And have no time too redo so this will be this year's pie.. Please help... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Really good. I am not a good baker but Libby is impossible to find in Spain. This filling was unbelievably good and easy. I cheated and skipped making the crust and used pate brise. It was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONKEY2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
It was delicious! This was my first time trying to make pumpkin pie from fresh pumpkins and it was a very simple recipe but yet a very tasty pie! But I didnt use the pie crust recipe I used store bought ones instead. I also doubled the recipe for the pie filling and it made 3 pies which was perfect. Overall an amazing and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl Velasquez Hata
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
First time ever making a pumpkin pie and it turned out good! The crust was great too, however I doubled the spices by 1/2 teaspoon to give it a little more flavour, already made a second pie and the family loves it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States