Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I can't speak for the crust, as I used store bought, but the filling was amazing! Like others I added an extra half cup or so of pumpkin purée which filled them just perfectly. No need to adjust other ingredients. I was out of ginger and substituted all spice instead which didn't seem to create any differences. So happy my first attempt at cooking a real pumpkin pie was positive! When my husband and young son love it, it's a keeper! I loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Favorite in my house including the neighbor's kid! Haven't tried making a home-made crust yet but will do soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyloco74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
A family member told me that I needed to boil the pumpkin, then mash it (I should have used the internet!). Needless to say, when I mixed all of the ingredients, the mix was SUPER liquidy (like thin soup) with thick pumpkin goop on the bottom of the bowl. I wanted to get all of that thick pumpkin mixed in well (I thought it would make everything thicker) so I put it in my blender and hit "puree". It was still very thin, although well mixed, and I was so worried that my pies didn't have a chance... For the second pie, I just put everything in the blender and hit "puree". I used store bought refrigerated pie crust (I was feeling lazy, and originally planned on making 6 pies), and I made no alterations to the recipe. I used 10-inch pie plates, and the filling almost overflowed out of the crusts! I believe I left my pies in for 45-50 minutes (I had 2 in the oven), and they turned out wonderfully! Nice, solid, not soupy at all, and delicious!! Thanks for a great recipe that saved me from a big disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I certainly loved this recipe! The reason why I didn't give it a five star rating was I couldn't believe that the amount of filling could fit two 8" OR 9" pie pans. The amount of crust though was way to much for a single pie so I baked mine in a 9 X 13 inch pan using the same amount of ingredients then cut them into rectangles. I find these smaller servings just right for a big meal with multiple other desserts to choose from. I added a bit more spices than called for in the recipe as suggested by numerous readers. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The only thing I changed was the nutmeg I only used 1/4 of a tsp. We loved every piece of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Barnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
GoOd but how do i cook the pumpkin do i boil it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Amazing!!!!!!!!!! Great for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is a winner! Loved it so much. Can't wait to have an excuse to make another. It was the PERFECT amount for one deep dish pie. To get the 2 cups of mashed pumpkin, I had to use 8 cups of pumpkin I had cubed and frozen, then steamed and ran through food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glenburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I used a different pie crust, but the pie filling was delicious! I also added a little more cinnamon all in all 1 tsp. Made 1 large pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
just baked 2 pies an they were horrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States