Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I added about 3/4 cup extra puréed pumpkin on the advice of another reviewer, made my own crust and only added the cinnamon out of the 3 spices listed. I just increased the cinnamon to 2 tsps. I grew up eating pumpkin pie with cinnamon only and I still prefer it that way. But all in all this is a very good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Osterday
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I tried this with using canned pumpkin, and it turned out great! I also made Mini pies, instead of two huge ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perham, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have never used fresh pumpkin to make a pie before so I did a trial run this week-end using this recipe. I made it exactly as written except I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of Allspice. This was absolutely delicious. I will never use canned pumpkin again. I will be using this recipe for the pie I make for Thanksgiving. I wish now I had bought more pumpkins. I am going to be growing my own next year. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This recipe is great, when making a homemade fresh pumpkin pie the baker has to realize it won't have all the refined sugars and fake pumpkin extract tastes that the can gives. It is a different texture but it is absolutely delicious. I added twice the amount of brown sugar and vanilla and I cut the recipe in half for the mixture, and it turned out delicious. I suggest cooking it overnight before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cuppycake
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
My husband LOVES his pumpkin pie and this with cinnamon added (his favorite spice!) is his favorite recipe for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Love this yummy, easy recipe! I followed some reviewers' advice and added 3/4 cup more pumpkin and extra spices (a little Allspice, doubled the cinnamon). The result was two very full, very yummy pumpkin pies. Thank you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The filling for this recipe is excellent - smooth and sweet with a spicy warmth. I really want to give it four and a half stars. The only reason I would withhold a half-star is that the crust given here was quite flavourless. My mother happily ate the filling and left the crust on her plate. In future I would make this with my usual shortcrust pastry (made with butter), or perhaps a graham cracker crumb crust. And yes, it's true that this recipe makes only enough filling for one deep pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is the best pumpkin pie I have ever tasted. Simple and subtle. You will never need another pumpkin pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I used a different recipe from this site to make the pumpkin puree, then used this one to make the pies. This crust is very easy and makes plenty of dough for two crusts. The filling is delicious; everyone loved it. My only complaint is that even using my shallowest pie plates, they were not quite full (as you can see in the photos). They also turned out speckled from the spices. I've never had that happen before! If I make it again, I'll try adding more pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Changed 3/4 Cup brown sugar to 1 Cup of white sugar. A heaping tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tap ginger, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, 1/4 tsp of cloves and 1/8 tsp of allspice, and about 2 Tbsp of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States