Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Loved it! I used sugar substitute for my diabetic grandpa and turned our awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious! Hubby and guests all loved the pie. I cheated and used a Pet Ritz deep-dish pie crust but used the filling recipe here so it only made one pie. I added 1/2 t of ground cloves as was suggested by another reviewer and we thought it had a wonderful flavor. For you other first-timers like me, cooking the pumpkin was a breeze. I cut it in quarters (it was big) and put it cut side down on a jelly roll pan and baked at 325 for an hour. I let it cool a little then with a large spoon, simply and easily scraped the seeds and strings, then scraped the pumpkin from the shell. It was sooo easy. Don't be afraid. My pumpkin was large so half is in the freezer waiting for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I have a couple of recommendations. After cooking and pureeing your pumpkin, let the puree drain so it is not at all watery. I baked rather than boiled the pumpkin. The crust recipe makes enough for 2 pies. The filling recipe makes enough for 1 pie. I didn't change any of the filling ingredients except for adding 1 tablespoon of flour. Use a pie shield so that the edges of the pie crust don't get too brown. We thought the spicing was perfect--it lets the flavor of the pumpkin shine through. I took it with me to my brother & sister-in-laws for Thanksgiving and she said it was the best pumpkin pie she had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Awesome!!! Made 2 pies from recipe. I added chinese five spice, cloves and a little more of each spice it called for. I was impressed and everyone loved it. Also froze a batch for a second pie a few weeks later that was just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was a very good pumpkin pie. I used my own crust recipe and fresh pumpkin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe turned out great the first time. It was sweet with that wonderful pumpkin flavor. Spice can be added to taste, but the base recipe is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Excellent.....Double the spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I used 1 1/2 cups eggnog in place of the evaporated milk. I also added 1/4 teaspoon ground clove and cut the salt in half. Pies turned out wonderful and we will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerrid1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
to get mashed pumpkin, I bake my fresh pumpkins. After cutting in 1/2 and removing seeds and stringy stuf. I cut down to fit on jelly jool pans and bake at 350 degree for 1/2 or so depending on oven and thicken of pumpkin. Add little water to bottom of pans for moisture while baking. Test with a fork for tender nes and softness like a bake potatoe when done. Then when cool scoop out of outer skin and blender to smoothness with a blender. Puree setting works great. Mom & Aunt show me this as a kid. We are keeping the tradation going down the generation!! Fun stuff!!! Happy Baking!! Also works with zucchini. Noticing some remarksabout not so much pumpkin flavor if you get pumpkin pie pumpkin it will taste better. your regular large pumpkin are different tasting. just use more spices as some are suggesting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Tastes like something is missing....can't quite put m finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States