Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
My first pumpkin pie to date, and it was WONDERFUL! What great flavor. It almost tasted like a gingersnap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crburros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson Station, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
YUM! I had been warned that fresh pumpkin has a lot more water in it and can be mushy so I followed a friend's method of preparing: I baked my pumpkin whole (with holes poked in) until soft, put it in the blender and then let it sit in a strainer to get the extra water out for several hours. For the recipe I added an extra egg. It turned out PERFECT and SOOOO Yummy!!! My son this could use a bit more cinnamon but I thought the spices were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star Dust Mining Company

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, New York, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was an awesome recipe!!!! I will make this again, for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this as my first ever pie. As far as the filling goes, I had to mix 50/50 fresh & canned b/c my pumpkin was small, and I think I would prefer this to fully fresh pumpkin. It's hard to get the real pumpkin smooth. It also seemed a little too mushy and creamy, so I think in the future I'd cut the evaporated milk a tad and replace with more pumpkin, maybe ~1/4 cup tradeoff. In case anyone else has never made pie crust before: Listen to directions here. Cut the shortening in by hand, add the water slowly, don't overwork. I made a rookie mistake of using my stand mixer and overworking the dough resulted in a dense rather than light and flaky piecrust. Oops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this pumpkin pie this year for Thanksgiving, it was such a success that it will be made for Thanksgiving here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I have never liked pumpkin pies until I tasted one that my best friend made. Since then if it's not homemade from real pumpkins I just don't like it. I tried this recipe and I must say it was easy. i called her up and told her how i cooked the pumpkins and now she's even doing it. Thanks.Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This pie came out amazing! I am currently living in German and there was no chance in making a "quick" pumpkin pie with canned pumpkin. Also a note to anyone else in Germany, I used Kondensmilche with 7.5% Fett to substitute the evaporated milk. I also doubled the cinnamon and nutmeg after reading reviews and it came out sweet and perfect. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This pie is the best, I made it the night before Thanksgiving with pie crust dough I had frozen from this recipe. Thawed out the dough followed the recipe and cut my prep time in half. I will never again used canned Pumpkin, this way is much more Delicious. Put some LOVE into your pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This will be the third year my kids and I have used this recipe. It always a hit especially since the one uncarved pumpkin from Halloween is the main ingredient. It's easy to follow and is quick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bennettkidschef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have a very similar recipe. Mine also has 1/4 c molasses and 1.5 tbsp melted butter. I use a graham cracker crust as well. I bake the pumpkin instead of boiling - halve the pumpkin, scoop out the seeds, and bake in oven skin side up at 325F for 1 hr. So easy and so delicious! Why would anyone want to use canned pumpkin after trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States