Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I can't speak for the crust, as I used store bought, but the filling was amazing! Like others I added an extra half cup or so of pumpkin purée which filled them just perfectly. No need to adjust other ingredients. I was out of ginger and substituted all spice instead which didn't seem to create any differences. So happy my first attempt at cooking a real pumpkin pie was positive! When my husband and young son love it, it's a keeper! I loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Favorite in my house including the neighbor's kid! Haven't tried making a home-made crust yet but will do soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Larck Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
A family member told me that I needed to boil the pumpkin, then mash it (I should have used the internet!). Needless to say, when I mixed all of the ingredients, the mix was SUPER liquidy (like thin soup) with thick pumpkin goop on the bottom of the bowl. I wanted to get all of that thick pumpkin mixed in well (I thought it would make everything thicker) so I put it in my blender and hit "puree". It was still very thin, although well mixed, and I was so worried that my pies didn't have a chance... For the second pie, I just put everything in the blender and hit "puree". I used store bought refrigerated pie crust (I was feeling lazy, and originally planned on making 6 pies), and I made no alterations to the recipe. I used 10-inch pie plates, and the filling almost overflowed out of the crusts! I believe I left my pies in for 45-50 minutes (I had 2 in the oven), and they turned out wonderfully! Nice, solid, not soupy at all, and delicious!! Thanks for a great recipe that saved me from a big disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I certainly loved this recipe! The reason why I didn't give it a five star rating was I couldn't believe that the amount of filling could fit two 8" OR 9" pie pans. The amount of crust though was way to much for a single pie so I baked mine in a 9 X 13 inch pan using the same amount of ingredients then cut them into rectangles. I find these smaller servings just right for a big meal with multiple other desserts to choose from. I added a bit more spices than called for in the recipe as suggested by numerous readers. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The only thing I changed was the nutmeg I only used 1/4 of a tsp. We loved every piece of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Barnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
GoOd but how do i cook the pumpkin do i boil it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Amazing!!!!!!!!!! Great for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is a winner! Loved it so much. Can't wait to have an excuse to make another. It was the PERFECT amount for one deep dish pie. To get the 2 cups of mashed pumpkin, I had to use 8 cups of pumpkin I had cubed and frozen, then steamed and ran through food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glenburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I used a different pie crust, but the pie filling was delicious! I also added a little more cinnamon all in all 1 tsp. Made 1 large pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
just baked 2 pies an they were horrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States