Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Not sweet enough...we ended up throwing the entire pie away. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
For a first time using fresh pumpkin, this turned out very well. I did double the spices and even added a teaspoon of all spice, but I still think it needs more spice. I was concerned because it was very runny, almost like liquid, so I added a teaspoon of corn starch like others recommended. Texture was perfect. I also used a large pumpkin, not one of the little cooking ones and turned out fine (though I have a lot of pumpkin leftover.) I boiled it on the stove, maybe next time I'll try in the oven to see if it helps with the runny-ness. Also, good to note that I should have peeled it before cutting into chunks because peeling the little chunks after boiling was kind of a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
My family and I loved this pie! we've been trying to think of things to add to make it our own taste... But this recipe is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Sophia Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
this recipe is great i did not use ginger i replaced the ginger with all spice and this recipe is enough for 2 pie crusts. Instead of putting your oven to 400 it could burn so i put my oven to 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
A little hint, My Mother always added a little molasses to her recepie, it adds the extra surprise in flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Excellent recipe. I have some veteran pumpkin pie fans in our family, and they've all told me this is the best they've ever had...high praise! Aside from adding a bit of allspice, the only other change I made was how I prepare the pumpkin. Rather than boil (where the pumpkin loses a lot of flavor, in my opinion), I roast it. Cut the pumpkin in half, discard seeds and innards, and place face down/skin up on a cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for about an hour, or until skin starts to blister and you see caramelization and liquid bubbling on the cookie sheet. Take it out of the oven and let cool for 20 minutes or so, then simply peel the skin off, toss the pulp (and the caramelized stuff) into a bowl and mash with a potato masher. The roasting process converts much of the starches into sugar (making the pulp sweeter), while also providing some nice nutty/roasty character to the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Came out great. I had to substitute evap milk because the stuff I had on hand was expired, but it still came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYBRAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I didn't make my own crust but the filling was easy and came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Very bland. Also, needed to bake an extra 10-15 minutes than noted. I would say double or even triple spices and include some cloves in the mix. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
We made this recently. I prepared my fresh pumpkin by oven roasting it and then scooping it out. I think the brown sugar really was a key here. Be careful to really mix up the eggs before adding though, as I ended up with a few eggy spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States