Homemade Fresh Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I can't say anything about these exact directions...but the recipe itself is great. I just went to a cheesemaking class and these were the exact ingredients in the cheese we made. We didn't put the salt in until after the cheese had drained, mixing it into the cheese, not the milk. We also only went to 180 degrees temp. The fresh cheese is VERY good. I suggest mixing in a bit of pepper and herbs for a wonderful, spreadable herbed cheese - great on breads or crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
A cheese lover at heart, I was so excited when I saw this recipe. Unfortunately, we don't have any cheesecloth, but I found that an old, clean pair of pantyhose does the trick just as well. It yielded a ricotta-style cheese that would be good in filled pasta. Not much flavor, though, so consider doctoring it up to your liking. Mine was done in about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Very easy and it tastes really good too! I just add alittle more salt for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This was really fun! I wasn't crazy about the Cider taste after, but I think with white vin. it will be great. It all got eaten fast though.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A. M. Spharler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was a great recipes for using a bunch of organic milk that I got on sale. We used the cheese in lasagna. It even froze well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bkowach
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!! I live in Korea and am not able to get cottage cheese here. This was sooo easy and yummy. I plan to use it in lasagna tomorrow. I do not have a thermometer so I watched for it to just start to boil. Stirred just once during boiling time (which I did on the lowest temp of a gas range). When it started to boil I shut it off and added the vinegar let it sit for 10 min., stirred again and saw the yellow whey. Used two knee highs (new), one inside the other drained and squeezed. Added salt to taste after draining and squeezing(not to milk) and presto!! Wonderful!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakeeney, Kansas, USA
Living In: Gangneung, Kangwon-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I love this recipe! I squeezed the chesse cloth some and let it drain about an hour longer so that it formed a ball. We have used this recipe several times in the couple of months and will contine to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very good- and easier than I thought (considering that I didn't have any cheesecloth!!!) I added herbs, garlic and a little more salt and spread it on German-style "black bread." I cannot wait to embark on more cheese-making adventures!!! PS a note for others, if your milk doesn't coagulate well, you have the choice of returning to heat or adding more vinegar- in view of the fact that the extra vinegar will alter the flavor, I went for more heat. If you save the whey you can make ricotta! (1/4 cup of vinegar for 2 gallons of whey)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Excellent! Easy to make... I needed to add a slight bit more vinegar to make the milk turn. My family liked it so well in my lasagna that I will have to make home made cheese every time. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was fun and easy to do. I used my cheese in lasagna and it was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Cheese

Turn regular yogurt into simple, flavorful homemade cream cheese.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States