Homemade Fresh Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very good- and easier than I thought (considering that I didn't have any cheesecloth!!!) I added herbs, garlic and a little more salt and spread it on German-style "black bread." I cannot wait to embark on more cheese-making adventures!!! PS a note for others, if your milk doesn't coagulate well, you have the choice of returning to heat or adding more vinegar- in view of the fact that the extra vinegar will alter the flavor, I went for more heat. If you save the whey you can make ricotta! (1/4 cup of vinegar for 2 gallons of whey)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I can't say anything about these exact directions...but the recipe itself is great. I just went to a cheesemaking class and these were the exact ingredients in the cheese we made. We didn't put the salt in until after the cheese had drained, mixing it into the cheese, not the milk. We also only went to 180 degrees temp. The fresh cheese is VERY good. I suggest mixing in a bit of pepper and herbs for a wonderful, spreadable herbed cheese - great on breads or crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bkowach
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!! I live in Korea and am not able to get cottage cheese here. This was sooo easy and yummy. I plan to use it in lasagna tomorrow. I do not have a thermometer so I watched for it to just start to boil. Stirred just once during boiling time (which I did on the lowest temp of a gas range). When it started to boil I shut it off and added the vinegar let it sit for 10 min., stirred again and saw the yellow whey. Used two knee highs (new), one inside the other drained and squeezed. Added salt to taste after draining and squeezing(not to milk) and presto!! Wonderful!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakeeney, Kansas, USA
Living In: Gangneung, Kangwon-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
A cheese lover at heart, I was so excited when I saw this recipe. Unfortunately, we don't have any cheesecloth, but I found that an old, clean pair of pantyhose does the trick just as well. It yielded a ricotta-style cheese that would be good in filled pasta. Not much flavor, though, so consider doctoring it up to your liking. Mine was done in about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I used this same recipe and really like it as an introduction to cheese-making. After I drained it I added a little kosher salt and some minced garlic. My 15-month old really loves it! She does a happy dance each time she eats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Super easy. I added fresh cracked black pepper, ground sea salt, fresh chives and minced garlic. Spread on crackers. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I love this recipe! I squeezed the chesse cloth some and let it drain about an hour longer so that it formed a ball. We have used this recipe several times in the couple of months and will contine to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was a great recipes for using a bunch of organic milk that I got on sale. We used the cheese in lasagna. It even froze well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This was really fun! I wasn't crazy about the Cider taste after, but I think with white vin. it will be great. It all got eaten fast though.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A. M. Spharler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was pretty neat to try. I have made homemade butter, but never tried homemade cheese. I was uncertain whether the recipe would work, so I used the calculate button and changed it to 6 servings. That equalled 4 cups of milk. However, I only got a dissapointing 1/2 cup of cheese (So, I am assuming the full recipe would yield about 2 cups). I used white vinegar and I saved the milk whey left, because I couldn't really taste the vinegar or salt in it. I can use it in another recipe, I believe. I cooked the milk on medium, so it didn't burn, but still continued to stir it. It took about 15 minutes to get up to temperature. I also let the vinegar sit in the milk for 15 minutes, to see if I could get more of it turn. The taste reminds me a little of fresh mozzarella, while the texture reminds me somewhat of ricotta. It was so much less salty than store bought cheese. I only had 2% milk, and believe I may have yielded a little more with the whole milk. I would like to try this again with 4 cups of whole milk or cream. If I do, I will report back the results. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Cheese

Turn regular yogurt into simple, flavorful homemade cream cheese.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States