Homemade Four Cheese Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I just used the Ravioli dought Recipe. It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by us2suprheros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe is very good, but I too had to change up the dough a bit. What I did was instead of 2 eggs and water, I used 1 large egg, 1/2 cup Sour Cream, and 1/4 cup soften butter. Much easier for me to work with. Plus I just dropped them in boiling water until the pasta was done. Also, you can freeze them too. Put them on a sheet in a single layer and put them in the freezer, when the outsides are frozen... into a ziplock they go! Then when you want to use them, take out what you need and drop them in boiling water until they float. You can freeze the sauce in a ziplock too! Busy day? Homemade dinner is done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I don't understand why you bake the raviolis, it just made them hard. I found the dough really difficult to work with. When eating the raviolis I felt like I was chewing on half cooked pasta. I will say that the cheese mixture was VERY good and tasty. Any retrogradations on what to use the left overs with? The recipe called for way more than I was able to use and I don't want to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Wow, are these ever good. The pasta dough is so easy to work with, it just rolled out beautifully in my old pasta maker. The cheese filling is excellent and serves as a good base for varying the kinds of cheeses you would like to use. I didn't have cream cheese so instead I used more ricotta and added a cup of freshly shredded parmesan. I think that made the cheese filling a little sharper and more flavorful. Also, I added a bit of minced shallot. I blended it in the food processor so it was an evenly smooth consistency and then added the parsley. I used fresh minced parsley. The ravioli looked so perfect and I was so happy to find that it even tasted better than perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Yummy! I have had the dish that this recipe is based on and it is just as good. My pasta was a little tender but I still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sah90504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I followed the dough recipe pretty much exactly but I had to add more water. Thats the part I was most worried about. I added motzerella cheese, ramano and feta bc thats all I had and made a spinach alfredo sauce and chicken to go on top. Make sure you roll out the dough to be pretty thin. I am giving 5 stars for the dough and directions for it. My husband said that it was better than going to olive garden. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Flavor wise this was very tasty. The ravioli was too difficult to make with out a pasta maker. I may have to try the wrappers that were suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Overall this recipe has real potential! First off, the dough gave me real issues. My first try i ended up with a rock of flour. The second time was a bit better, i used 3 Tbs. of water and 2 tsp. of oil which made it more workable. The dough needs to be rolled much thinner than a nickel though. Another reviewer said not to worry about cutting close to the filling. Don't be afraid! The dough is very thick and too much if you don't. After cooking this i advise round ravioli! The filling is a really good mix of cheeses. I ended up using a full cup of mozzarella instead of half mozzarella and half provolone to save a bit of money. The proportions are a little off with this recipe. I ended up with only 13 ravioli, more than half of the filling leftover and just as much sauce as filling. Advise to anyone cooking this-- double the dough! You won't be sorry. The Pesto Alfredo sauce is really good! Too much oil though. Next time i cook this i will cut out the olive oil and cook the garlic alone with the basil pesto sauce. Lastly, the egg wash. I didn't see the point in brushing an egg wash over the ravioli before sticking them in boiling water, so i cut it altogether. Again, overall the recipe is good! VERY time consuming for one person. I would make it again, however, with the changes i mentioned above and probably a different dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
this was my first attempt at making pasta dough, that being said, my dough turned out TERRIBLE, but i will try that again. i didn't make the pesto sauce i made a regular red sauce. i DID make the filling however and since the dough was a pretty sad excuse for pasta, i decided that instead of giving up on the whole process i would make a lasagna instead since i already made the red sauce and a ricotta cheese filling. it turned out AMAZING the filling in this recipe is a great layer in a lasagna so next time i try too make raviloi noodles i will make sure to have my back up lasagna noodles in the pantry because it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The pasta recipe is a good one...but if I hadn't had a pasta press this would have been so tedious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States