Homemade Four Cheese Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by KingSparta
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
A Standard Dough Recipe, I Use Butter and Not Olive Oil, I Think It Gives a Bigger Flavor. Other Than That A Great Recipe. I did have some cheddar cheese left in the refrigerator so I added it to the filling, and it was good. If you have problems rolling out the dough buy a pasta machine. Even the best chefs have one it was one of my best investments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I was so excited for this recipe because I've really been into cooking homemade pasta lately. I was a little nervous because half the reviews said that the dough was hard to roll, but I did it anyway. Now I wish I wouldn't have :( I only used the dough recipe and it was too hard to mess with. I did it by hand and that may have an effect on it but I still won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Loftin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Great recipe. Used low-fat, non-fat or "light" versions of everything (including the cheeses) and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I made a mistake and didn't leave enough room to pinch the ends and the cheese sort of squished out, but they were still amazing - even without the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was my first time ever making homemade pasta, so lookswise it wasn't the greatest, but my lack of skill in that area is hardly the fault of the recipe. Tastewise, it turned out great. Since I was rolling by hand without benefit of a pasta maker, it did take rather longer than expected. I will make this again when I get my hands on a decent machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
It seemed simple but the dough came out impossible to roll thin enough, the raviolis came open in the boiling water and once done boiling and being baked they still weren't cooked through. My husband couldn't eat it and he's eaten 2 years worth of my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
My family really liked this ravioli, the dough was great, more of what we think pasta hould taste like. When I try semolina recipes they come out a little to grainy. I think Americans are use to flour pastas so this ones a keeper. I have left over feeling so I am going to make more pasta dough today and fill and freeze. We didn't try the sauce, it sounds good but I had left over marinara thats what lead me to finding a good cheese ravioli. I will try it with the Alfredo though and update my review when I do. TY Callie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Reviewing just the filling. I used a different dough recipe that turned out perfectly. The filling was disappointing. Good but very bland. I didn't have provolone so I used Parmesan. Luckily I served the raviolis with red pepper and spinach Alfredo sauce and that gave them the oomph they needed. I won't use this filling again. Oh, I used a 12X 4 inch ravioli press and there's enough filling for 48 raviolis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I'm guessing my main problem was that I tripled the recipe, because of this, I presume, it took me 7 hours. But I had more cheese filling (and also used another recipe for a meet filling) than I needed, so I was then able to make a whole lasagna and a whole batch of stuffed shells, so I guess it all worked out in the end, I had meals for two weeks! I also added atrichokes and a few other ingredients to part of this for a little more deliciousness! :) either way, the recipe was good, but the dough was a pain in my behind! I would make it again, but less portions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States