Homemade Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
I have made a lowfat version of this bread, and we love it. I use only 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil in the dough and 1 tablespoon of olive oil on the top. I add 1 minced clove of garlic to the olive oil for the top (in addition to the rosemary), bake the bread for 15 to 16 minutes, and cover the warm bread with a dishtowel once I move it to a wire rack to cool. This makes the top soft, since using less oil dries it out. I serve it for sandwiches made with garlic-roasted veggies, pesto, and freshly grated parmesan. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This was my first attempt at making Focaccia and it turned out very well. I didn't proof the yeast the first time and it still rose nicely, but I always proof it first now. This is a very easy recipe to make. I only have a hand mixer and can still pull it off. The batter sticks to the beaters a little bit but I just pull it off-no problem. I dont always use all of the additional 3/4 cup of flour. It depends how the initial batter turns out. I am not a big fan of rosemary so I use italian seasoning, garlic powder and a little kosher salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
The bread has a nice taste, however, it doesn't seem to have the true focaccia consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2001
This focaccia is great. We liked it even better after I sprinkled a bit of coarse sea salt on top before baking. Don't be concerned if you find you don't need as much flour as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This is a simple, delicious bread that is loved my kids as well as adults. I sometimes make it and serve it with herbed olive oil as an appetizer. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
Since I didn't have any dried rosemary, I just used some fresh sprigs from my garden and placed them in the poked holes (which I just poked with my finger, more fun that way!) Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
This is the easiest Foccacia I've made and still has all the great flavor. Love it! I make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This bread was quick and easy to make. I served it a dinner party and everyone gave it rave reviews and didn't believe that I had made it myself. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This recipe was so easy and tasted soooo much better than what I have bought in the store! I followed the recipe for the most part but I did make some changes based on what I know about bread making. First, I let the yeast bloom in the water and oil that I heated up for 30 seconds in the microwave. I did add additional sugar to the yeast mixture to 'feed' the yeast. I waited for about 10 minutes or so before adding the yeast to the flour, sugar, and salt. After I added the yeast I added the egg. I put the mixture in my Kitchen Aid with the paddle attachment. I added the additional flour until the dough did not stick to the sides. I used the dough hook for about five minutes. I then transfered the dough to a floured silpat and tossed it a bit on the floured pat. Then covered with a bowl for 5 minutes. I rolled out the bread into a rectangle and put it on a cookie sheet. Let it rise using clingwrap sprayed with oil and a clean towel. After rising, I poked holes with a wooden spoon and then topped it with mixture (started before making bread to let flavors blend) of olive oil, garlic, pepper, kosher salt, rosemary, basil, and oregano (fresh) and onion powder and onion salt. Also, Parmesan and Romano cheese and a little red pepper flakes. Spread into bread and let it cook for 15 minutes. Let it cool and enjoy! My husband and I have eaten half of the bread already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
I loved this recipe and made about 6 loaves for a get2gether recently. It was so easy because the rising time is so short! Everyone devoured the bread and gave many compliments. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States