Homemade Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Really good! I took the other reviewers advice and mixed some italian seasonings and the rosemary into the dough and sprinkled the sea salt and parmesan cheese on top of the olive oil and it turned out great (and I mixed it by hand)! My hubby didn't believe I made it and my 10 month old loved it too! I paired it with mozzarella chicken and some zuchinni. . . what a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This was delish, but didn't rise as high as I wanted it to. I made it following the recipe to a T, except adding sea salt on top. It only rose to about 1 inch, maybe two in the higher spots. I wanted to use it to make paninis and the guests were on the way so I just used it and it actually worked out fine. I sliced it into wedges, sliced each wedge in half and put them on the George Foreman grill. I put on pesto, chicken, mozz, spinach and a relish of diced sauteed onion, red pepper and kalamata olives. You could not tell they weren't from a restaurant! The bread was crunchy on top and perfect for the sandwich, not too bready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
The recipe was very easy to make. There was no way I could knead in 3/4 C of flour. Even after cutting back on the flour, I thought the bread was dry. I probably would not make again as written. Also, it really needed more rosemary. The salt idea is one I would try, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melvin, Iowa, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Unfortunately I didn't read the reviews before making, but since I didn't put any herbs right in the bread I served it with herbed vegan butter spread. I also substituted one cup of regular flour with one cup whole wheat and I sprinkled a little salt on top. I didn't have rosemary so I put tarragon and sage on top. It is so good and has a restaurant quality texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danakscully64
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was my first time making homemade focaccia and it was excellent! I'm used to plain focaccia (this recipe with sea salt), so think of it as the standard focaccia where you add what you like to it. I made it to go with my homemade vegan chili. Will make this again since it was SO easy with excellent results. USE SEA SALT! Also, you can make it into a rectangle shape and cut it up with scissors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danakscully64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
After reading the reviews I decided to try and "spice it up" a bit. I added 1/2 packet of dried italian seasoning packet and 1 teaspoon of fresh ground italian herbs. Instead of one 12" size round I made two 6" rounds. This bread was a bit dry, even with the added herbs. Next time I will try to make the rounds 8" for a thinner bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Very easy and very good. After reading the reviews, I took the advice to add herbs. I added 1 tbsp each of dried rosemary, oregano and garlic flakes prior to kneading the remaining 3/4 cup of flour. I am glad I added these herbs because it probably would have been a bit bland. I also topped with parmesan and course sea salt. USE THE SEA SALT!!! With the sea salt and the herbs, my focaccia looked and tasted like the ones at the italian restaurants!! One more thing, I just eyeballed the rising time. I actually let the dough rise for a good 1 1/2 hrs-2hrs in knowing that I wanted a fluffier type bread. I made two batches - one that I kneaded by hand and another using my Kitchen Aid stand up mixer...both were a success (use the hook on the mixer...much easier and less clean up). 4 stars because I had to add to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annalynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I've never made my own bread before, and this recipe was easy to work with. I found the dough far too sticky to knead initially, so I ended up working the flour into the dough with a wooden spoon and then by hand once the dough firmed up. Like other reviewers, I added in some herbs (herbes de Provence in my case), parmesan cheese and cut down on the olive oil. After twenty minutes the focaccia had a nice golden crust. This is definitely a recipe I'll use again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I have one phrase to decsribe this bread...Shut up!! I used fresh rosemary instead of dried and had to use brown sugar because someone rudely used all my white. Love that it was so fast and easy to make! This was a definate winner in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I've made this twice now and both times it's come out wonderfully!! I put everything in the bread machine and it did all the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States