Homemade Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I wasn't crazy about this recipe. It was a bit flat tasting and I didn't care for the texture. Probably won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Easily the best focaccia recipe I've tried so far. My family stole away with half a loaf before we had even started dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Very good! I rolled mine out and used cookie sheets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Pearl
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Pretty good focaccia bread. The instructions are very easy to follow. I did all the mixing by hand. I did not proof the yeast ahead of time I just threw it in as the recipe directed. But I did make sure my water was warmed to 110° degrees before adding it in. I also pre-beat my egg before adding that in. Since I beat it all by hand- no electric mixer. It turned out very nice. But my was oval shaped about 10x11" just short of the 12" circle, so parts of it were quite thick. I used fresh rosemary on top and added thyme. The second time I baked this bread, I added some herbs into the dough mixture while kneading before it sits. But it was still lacking in flavor. It's a basic plain recipe and I made a turkey sandwich with it which was great the next day. But you can't really store it that long. Tastes best fresh baked. I would encourage adding more salt and seasoning but great over all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This recipe was so easy and tasted soooo much better than what I have bought in the store! I followed the recipe for the most part but I did make some changes based on what I know about bread making. First, I let the yeast bloom in the water and oil that I heated up for 30 seconds in the microwave. I did add additional sugar to the yeast mixture to 'feed' the yeast. I waited for about 10 minutes or so before adding the yeast to the flour, sugar, and salt. After I added the yeast I added the egg. I put the mixture in my Kitchen Aid with the paddle attachment. I added the additional flour until the dough did not stick to the sides. I used the dough hook for about five minutes. I then transfered the dough to a floured silpat and tossed it a bit on the floured pat. Then covered with a bowl for 5 minutes. I rolled out the bread into a rectangle and put it on a cookie sheet. Let it rise using clingwrap sprayed with oil and a clean towel. After rising, I poked holes with a wooden spoon and then topped it with mixture (started before making bread to let flavors blend) of olive oil, garlic, pepper, kosher salt, rosemary, basil, and oregano (fresh) and onion powder and onion salt. Also, Parmesan and Romano cheese and a little red pepper flakes. Spread into bread and let it cook for 15 minutes. Let it cool and enjoy! My husband and I have eaten half of the bread already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Uppity46
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Made this last night. My girls want me to make it every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Uppity46

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
My first time ever making a Focaccia Bread. Turned out really nice - I combined some olive oil with fresh minced garlic, some maldon salt, brushed over top of the bread and then sprinked with fresh chopped rosemary. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is a pretty fast and easy focaccia bread recipe that I was grateful to have found. However, it is quite bland! I found myself pouring more olive oil and sprinkling salt over the top of my baked bread because it was so blah. Next time I make it I'm going to replace the 2 tbs vegetable oil with 2 tbs olive oil and add the crushed rosemary, along with an additional tsp of dried italian seasoning, into the dough itself, as well as on top. Also, the texture of the bread isn't like focaccia in restaurants (which, to me, is more like ciabatta bread). It was fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Was easier then it sounds to make. Although, it didn't taste like true focaccia bread in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This recipe is more like a scone recipe. Not that tasty either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States