Homemade Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by JewJewBean
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I like this recipe but after trying it, I found it a little dense and dry so I tried again. I doubled it, both times. This time, I used 5 cups of flour, one egg and 4 Tbspns mayonnaise, added another 1/4 tspn salt and 1/8 cup milk. I added the yeast and sugar to the WARMED water ans let it sit for 10 minutes. I mixed the dry ingredients then beat the egg in a separate dish. I warmed the oil and added it to the yeast mixture before adding to the dry mix. Added the mayo and egg and mixed with a fork until wet. I then kneaded it, sprinkling flour as I went to get it JUST to the "not so sticky stage". I covered it with a bowl and let sit 10 minutes. I oiled a large cookie sheet and cut the dough in half. I pressed the dough into rectangles, covered it lightly with plastic wrap and a towel and left it on top of the pre-heating oven for 35 minutes. It rose beautifully! Not higher, necessarily, but certainly bigger and fluffy. I covered one with shredded cheese and jalapenos and the other with cinnamon and brown sugar. Baked at 380(my oven runs a little hot)for 17 minutes. Just until lightly golden. Be careful not to let it go dark. BOTH are amazing! Soft, chewy and RIDICULOUSLY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JewJewBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coquille, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was soooo good! Very soft and chewy, and I will DEFINITELY be making this lots more, it didn't even take that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mykaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fossil, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is an easy and delicious bread..I love that you can personalize the flavors..my husband and dad gave it rave reviews. If you have bread flour, it makes a soft nice bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
can someone help me??? does this bread freeze well? I'm getting married in a few weeks and I'm using bread and dipping oils as my center peices. I'm looking for a bread like this...but it must feeze well so I am not rushing at last minute.. Does anyone know????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIEFOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loganton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This was great. I added in some garlic and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
very easy, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ductape

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
we make this all the time & love it! i usually substitute italian seasonings or just plain salt & pepper for the rosemary, but it's good with almost anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This bread is so good. Moist, soft, flavorful. I used butter instead of oil and also added garlic, black pepper, and crushed rosemary to the dough. I baked on a pizza stone, which I had oiled and tossed some course sea salt onto. It baked for right around 18 minutes and is absolutely delicious. Topped it with cheese after it came out and served with homemade tomato soup. PERFECT and will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
LOVED IT. Just got it out of the oven and can't stop eating it. I didn't have rosemary, so I made my own topping with crushed garlic, coarse salt, and crushed peppers. Will make many more of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States