Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time and it came out good, not great, but pretty good. I added 3 tablespoons of vegetable shortening instead of lard. Using hot water helped with elasticity. Overall very tasty, my husband was very pleased. My hardest part is rolling them into actual circles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chagyrlchicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
thank you for the great recipe..I used ww flour a touch more salt and ghee in place of lard. Oh, and iI cut them into 16 that way the size wsa right for me.. Around 2.5 grams of dough each.... VERY good! Ive had such a hard time making tortillas before and these are soooo good!!! Tips would include, allow dough balls to rest under damp cloth for 25mins to ensure they are very moist and as you take off of stove cover with same damp cloth. Make sure you roll these out very thin or you will have tasty flat bread lol (not that anything is wrong with that!!) ALL IN ALL I WOULD GIVE 10 STARS IF I COULD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I have been wanting to make homemade tortillas for the longest and when I found this recipe I decided to try it. Oh my God they are so good. You will love them. They are so easy to make and that's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I just finished making this recipe. I am so happy I came across this one. I have a son that is allergic to corn, soy and nuts... It is hard to find a store bought tortilla or any other bread without one of those ingredients. Yippee, lunches just got a little excitement back in them! Thanks so much! Took no time at all to make and they taste good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I have prepared this recipe three times and believe I have now perfected it! The only substitution I made was shortening for the lard (lard isn't available where I live). With this recipe, I made roughly 16 tortillas instead of 24. If you are having trouble with rolling out the dough thin enough, LET IT REST! That was my problem the first two times. The third time I let the dough rest twice; first after kneading, and second after weighing out the dough balls. If you are going to let it rest, be sure to cover it with a damp towel to prevent the surface from drying out. Letting it rest made it extremely easy to roll out thinly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
The easiest recipe I found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I didn't have lard, so I used butter, and it was good, but not great. We will try shortening next time and I'm hopeful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I wanted something like the tortillas made at the tortilla factory in my town. They are amazing. I'll keep looking. For me, these were dry and more like a cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by merideth
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
After reading the most helpful reviews, I decided to use exact measurements, substitute butter for lard and use hot tap water. Into the whisked dry ingredients in my Kitchenaid's mixing bowl, I finely grated refrigerated butter, grating about 1/4 of the butter at a time and stopping to mix it into the flour with my hands. I attached my dough hook and kneaded on speed 2 for 2-3 minutes, until the dough was smooth and elastic. I divided the dough into 16 balls after reading how small others' tortillas were and let them rest 10 minutes while I cleaned up and heated my clean dry cast iron skillet to high (later, I turned down the heat to med-high). I sprayed both my silicone mat and rolling pin with non-stick cooking spray, spread the ball of dough with my fingers into an approximately 4" circle - the dough is very soft and spread easily - then, rolled from the center out toward 12 o'clock, then 6 o'clock, 3 o'clock, then 9 o'clock, etc. The dough easily rolled so thin I could read the "Silpat" logo beneath it. After rolling out one ball, I found the resulting tortilla was too large for my skillet, so I divided each ball in half again - making 32 8"-10" tortillas. I cooked each tortilla about 10 seconds until the bubbles were a dark golden brown, then flipped it over for another 5 or so seconds. The tortillas were delicious! Light, delicate and flavorful. Although they were intended for enchiladas, I ate three while I cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
As is, the recipe is okay. 2 TBSP of lard did not get my very far with the water...The snap back on the dough was to strong to roll out as far as I needed with having to make 24 count. Plus there was so little lard, that it never reached that "fine cornmeal" state. A 2nd batch was in order. It took at least 4 TBSP of lard and another 1/2tsp of salt as well. Once I did that, it turned out similar to a recipe my mom used to make. BEST TIP I can tell you on how to get equal amount of dough pieces on a recipes such as this is: weigh you dough prior to cutting and proportioning out. Once the dough is weighed divide out how many you need to make this recipe work to serving size. My dough weighed 36oz / 24= 1.5oz per portion. Will make again with my adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States