Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
These turned out terrific. At the suggestion of others, rolled the dough into balls and let them rest until a damp cloth for 15 minutes. Rolled into rounds turning 90 degrees each pass to get a more circular shape (we need to practice) it's important for the griddle to be really hot to get the nice freckled toasted spots. If you don't have a tortilla warmer, you can wrap the cooked tortillas in a moist cloth while you cook the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom cooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I have tried for years to replicate my grandmothers tortillas. And this is by far the closest thing to them! I do add a tbsp of powder milk to mine I think it makes them softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I never knew that homemade tortillas could taste so good...and sooooo easy. It is critical that you use lard, I used Tendeflake and they were fantastic. I just wish I could get them as thin as the store-bought ones. These are the only tortillas allowed in our house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thelpguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 times now and I love it! The first time I made it, they ended up a bit dry and cracked, so I just threw a few dampened paper towels in the ziploc with them and they turned soft and pliable. I use a food scale to make them all the same size and I use a big skillet and cook 3 at a time so it takes me about an hour from start to finish. I have found that if I cook them a little less than I think I need to, they end up soft. I store them in the fridge with a few damp paper towels and they are good for a little over a week (if they last that long!) I also use Crisco instead of lard as that's what I have in the house and they work perfectly. I will never buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
These are amazing. Moderate work, huge return. I also watched the video and saw they kept them in a tortilla warmer, I didn't have one so I used a round pyrex casserole. Keep it covered in between making them they end up being warm and pliable, just perfect. Also, because I made these a couple of hours before I was eating them I put them in a cold oven and then put the hot cast iron skillet on the oven rack below them and closed the oven. They kept warm until dinner without heating the oven. I am going to try and freeze them, I'll let you know how that worked out. Just some notes, I kneaded the dough about 5 minutes. When rolling them I found that if you roll them by turning the rolling pin a 1/4 of a turn on every pass you will get round tortillas. Make sure you roll past the edge on every roll. Use enough flour and keep rolling, they will get thin. This made twenty 6 to 7 inch tortillas for me. I will never buy store bought again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeneen Skewes Pylant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Right on like we do it with lard. I let the dough rest. So it will stretch when you roll it out. I roll with a wooden roller once up one down then turn the tortilla a quarter turn and repeat until you have a nice round tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Made this recipe today. My sister-in-law who is mexican came over and asked how I made the tortillas. I told her from this recipe and then told her what's in it. She said well thats exactly how I make mine. Lol. Nice to know I picked the correct recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Great, easy recipe! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
fantastic i make these all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Made this when I found that I had not bought the tortillas I needed. So simple. Try this and you won't. Be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States