Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I always felt that making homemade flour tortillas would be too much work and too time consuming. Boy, was I wrong! I halved the recipe (only three of us for dinner) and I have to say that this recipe exceeded my expectations in every way. I made the tortillas earlier in the day and then reheated them by placing in a ziplock bag and microwaving on medium for 40 seconds. Everyone commented on how delicious they tasted. I'm never buying them again! Thank you for this excellent recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Just made these- no lard - only had butter- easy and tender and delish thank you! Happy cinco de mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
made these at a friends house and they were simply to make. I have never been a huge fan of using shortening, so I used olive oil and they worked well for me. I did drizzle a little bit more oil as it didn't look crumbly enough, but using the oil worked well. I would make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Twinkee1
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I used real butter instead of lard, and will be storing in the fridge and re-heating them as needed. I wonder if you could add a bit if citric acid for longevity?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
We use this recipe any time we want tacos now. Its quick, easy and tastes way better than those you find on the grocery store shelves. Biggest advantage for me: they are low sodium so I can enjoy tacos again. We make a recipe and divide them into round balls which we then freeze. Easy to get out the number we need for the next meal, thaw and cook. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is the best tortilla recipe around! I've used many. I know it says not to use shortening instead of lard, but I did with wonderful results! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VintageMommy777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Perfect. Used my dough hook in my stand mixer. Added a pinch of sugar. Sprayed the counter with Pam instead of using flour. Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bigdavey2678
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Follow the recipe, and be patient with it. It's worth it. The tortillas I made came out perfect and soft. You have to put the tortillas in a warmer or on a plate covered with a towel right after they come off heat. Let them rest a bit, the get very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
These turned out terrific. At the suggestion of others, rolled the dough into balls and let them rest until a damp cloth for 15 minutes. Rolled into rounds turning 90 degrees each pass to get a more circular shape (we need to practice) it's important for the griddle to be really hot to get the nice freckled toasted spots. If you don't have a tortilla warmer, you can wrap the cooked tortillas in a moist cloth while you cook the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom cooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States