Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I've seen the review of this recipe and let me tell you something people. I'm from the North of Mexico close to where flour tortillas were orginated so I know what I'm talking about. You NEVER put margarine in flour tortillas. That is a BIG no! Lard is used in Mexico because shortening was a luxury overthere, but people that moved here in the U.S started using shortening. Shortening or Lard, salt, baking powder and HOT WATER is needed. If the water is not hard your tortillas are going to come out hard and ugly with not a good taste. You NEVER put flour tortillas in the refrigerator. If you do they will come out hard and you don't want that. These are flour tortillas not corn tortillas. You wrap them up in a kitchen servilleta, but you never wrap them up hot. You have to let them cool then wrap them. It is very important the amount you use to make the dough. Putting too much hot water will result in sticky ugly dough and will be useless. Putting too much shortening will result in dough that is greasy. I hope this helps you guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
My first attempt at making tortillas and I will never go back to store bought ones again. I used margarine, simply placed all dry items and margarine into a food processor and pulsed until mixed. Then added hot water slowly while machine was running, until it came together into a ball. Kneaded lightly and divided into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Must use lard! Honestly, I've made them with veggie shortening, and with butter, and with lard. ALTHOUGH the recipe works with shortening, it's elevated to a different level with lard. I wouldn't change a thing about the recipe. I've used it over 5 times now, even at a dinner party. Sometimes I cut the recipe in half. Easy, delicious, and there's no added sugar like in grocery store tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Monique Cade

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Great recipe! Yes, I used Lard which is more natural than shortening. I made the whole recipe and they were wolfed down! The kids loved 'helping' make these. I served them with Tortilla soup - perfect dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is a good recipe. If it doesn't turn out well for you then here are some tips: Use Bread flour. Use a stand mixer with a dough hook and let it knead the dough for 10 minutes. Thinner is better. the thinner you roll out your dough the more bubbly it gets. When they are done cooking place them under a damp cloth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Black

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Truly love this recipe it's so easy and quick for when you don't have a lot of time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cambridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I always felt that making homemade flour tortillas would be too much work and too time consuming. Boy, was I wrong! I halved the recipe (only three of us for dinner) and I have to say that this recipe exceeded my expectations in every way. I made the tortillas earlier in the day and then reheated them by placing in a ziplock bag and microwaving on medium for 40 seconds. Everyone commented on how delicious they tasted. I'm never buying them again! Thank you for this excellent recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Just made these- no lard - only had butter- easy and tender and delish thank you! Happy cinco de mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
made these at a friends house and they were simply to make. I have never been a huge fan of using shortening, so I used olive oil and they worked well for me. I did drizzle a little bit more oil as it didn't look crumbly enough, but using the oil worked well. I would make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States