Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Not enough lard - tortillas were too brittle and thick, not soft and thin as they should be. Also, hot water should been used when mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I definitely love this recipe, I'm navajo and I have no idea how to make bread. I made this for the first time today and it came out perfect... Thank You so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaManda A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I really like this recipe. It has good bones to definitely make it your own.The texture came out perfect but it tasted a little bland. Definitely going to try adding more salt ( 1 1/2 teaspoons) next time. I used margarine instead of lard and the taste difference is not so much different. Overall, success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette Lujano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copes006
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
A quick and easy way to make delicious tortillas. The family loved them. I halved the recipe: 1/2 flour and 1/2 whole wheat. The flour half tasted better and had a lighter texture. Whole wheat was okay if you don't mind the grittiness. I will be using this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Absolutely perfect! I also cut the recipe in half and I used coconut oil instead of lard (same amount). I cooked these in my tortilla press and they were amazing, and had that thin yet slightly stretchy feel. Much better than the recipe that came with the press!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Frisby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Great recipe! I replaced the lard with butter and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katya D'Entremont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I doubt I will make this again. Could not get the tortillas thin enough as they puff when they cook. These would be better for quesadillas, not the tortillas you use for wraps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tabitha
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Ok I changed them, gluten free and they turned out yummy, I topped them with some of my fav seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Perfect every time. I will never eat tacos, fajitas or burritos unless I have a homemade tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carson's Mommy
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I can't believe that it is this easy to make tortillas, even without a tortilla press! The dough is so easy to work with! I did not have any problems rolling the dough out paper-thin using only a rolling pin and without additional dusting of flour. I also love that the recipe calls for very little fat. I used palm oil & coconut oil blend instead of lard and the recipe still worked! This recipe is excellent and makes delicious, soft and tender tortillas which are definitely much better than those bought at the store. Because they are quite easy to make, I will no longer purchase commercial tortillas! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 709) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States