Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by copes006
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
A quick and easy way to make delicious tortillas. The family loved them. I halved the recipe: 1/2 flour and 1/2 whole wheat. The flour half tasted better and had a lighter texture. Whole wheat was okay if you don't mind the grittiness. I will be using this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Absolutely perfect! I also cut the recipe in half and I used coconut oil instead of lard (same amount). I cooked these in my tortilla press and they were amazing, and had that thin yet slightly stretchy feel. Much better than the recipe that came with the press!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Frisby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Great recipe! I replaced the lard with butter and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katya D'Entremont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I doubt I will make this again. Could not get the tortillas thin enough as they puff when they cook. These would be better for quesadillas, not the tortillas you use for wraps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tabitha
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Ok I changed them, gluten free and they turned out yummy, I topped them with some of my fav seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Perfect every time. I will never eat tacos, fajitas or burritos unless I have a homemade tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carson's Mommy
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I can't believe that it is this easy to make tortillas, even without a tortilla press! The dough is so easy to work with! I did not have any problems rolling the dough out paper-thin using only a rolling pin and without additional dusting of flour. I also love that the recipe calls for very little fat. I used palm oil & coconut oil blend instead of lard and the recipe still worked! This recipe is excellent and makes delicious, soft and tender tortillas which are definitely much better than those bought at the store. Because they are quite easy to make, I will no longer purchase commercial tortillas! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This is the only tortilla recipe this very inexperienced white girl has enter used... It's wonderful! Make must make sure you roll them out paper thin, but they are soft and delightful every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gilman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
In spite of the warning in the recipe, I subbed the lard with about 1 Tbsp of canola oil and 1 Tbsp of olive oil with delicious results. It honestly wasn't too bad to work with (after my substitution), and I found that once I allowed the dough to rest I was able to make very large, very thin tortillas (fewer calories) without tearing them in the process, they were super-stretchy and forgiving. Even when these thinner tortillas were full of taco toppings they didn't tear. This is an awesome recipe and I highly recommend it, I will never use another tortilla recipe. I did find that the recommended size of the dough balls was too small for my family's tastes, so next time I will cut the yield and make fewer dough balls. I used some of the leftover cooked tortillas to make cinnamon and sugar rollups for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
If you're having trouble rolling out circles, look at the back of your largest round dinner plates to see if they have a circular "foot" molded into the ceramic. If so, put each lightly floured ball onto a cutting board and then press it out round with the bottom of your dinner plate. If it's still a little thick just roll a bit more after pressing it out trying to keep the round shape. Pressing out the dough instead of rolling works a bit better if you do have a slightly higher lard content. You can also try pressing out rounds just by pressing them out flat on your floured surface using a lightly floured cutting board. (This method makes it a little hard to get the thickness even, though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States