Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Thanks for sharing this great recipe, definitely keeping this in my kitchen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Simple, easy and WAY better than store bought. Hubby loved them. I was out and we wanted to make breakfast burritos for dinner. I looked up the recipe, had the ingredients and it didn't take anytime at all. I made the whole recipe and have some stored in the fridge. I did not have lard, had a stick of vegetable shortening but didn't want to use it because of all the hydrogenated garbage in it, so I used organic butter (about 2 1/2 tablespoons) in the recipe. It turned out fine. Organic flour, sea salt, aluminum free baking powder and organic butter. Now those are ingredients I can live with and much healthier and tastier than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Not enough lard - tortillas were too brittle and thick, not soft and thin as they should be. Also, hot water should been used when mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I definitely love this recipe, I'm navajo and I have no idea how to make bread. I made this for the first time today and it came out perfect... Thank You so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaManda A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I really like this recipe. It has good bones to definitely make it your own.The texture came out perfect but it tasted a little bland. Definitely going to try adding more salt ( 1 1/2 teaspoons) next time. I used margarine instead of lard and the taste difference is not so much different. Overall, success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette Lujano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copes006
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
A quick and easy way to make delicious tortillas. The family loved them. I halved the recipe: 1/2 flour and 1/2 whole wheat. The flour half tasted better and had a lighter texture. Whole wheat was okay if you don't mind the grittiness. I will be using this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Absolutely perfect! I also cut the recipe in half and I used coconut oil instead of lard (same amount). I cooked these in my tortilla press and they were amazing, and had that thin yet slightly stretchy feel. Much better than the recipe that came with the press!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Frisby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Great recipe! I replaced the lard with butter and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katya D'Entremont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I doubt I will make this again. Could not get the tortillas thin enough as they puff when they cook. These would be better for quesadillas, not the tortillas you use for wraps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tabitha
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Ok I changed them, gluten free and they turned out yummy, I topped them with some of my fav seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 702) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States