Homemade Flaxseed Donuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I replaced the flaxseed with more flour, and added a hint of vanilla. they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These did not turn out at all. I followed the recipe exactly. They were tasteless and tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
The onion was too intense for me. I would leave it out or try something else. If it wasn't for that I'd give it a higher rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I made these donuts yesterday and my family loved them! The flax definitely lent to a great texture. The dough was a bit sticky, so I found myself adding about half a cup of additional flour (total) as I rolled out the dough. I sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar on the tops to make them look "more professional" but is wasn't necessary for flavor. They were delicious! I will make them again - soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very yummy! I had to add extra flour to get a consistency that could be rolled and cut. Making sure the oil is at the right temp is also very important. Really enjoyed this breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These are delicious! I would never think of giving my two year old a donut unless there was something nutritious in them (he is terribly fussy and likes sweets). He is always asking for another one of these. I made a few alterations, I baked mine as cookies on a cookie sheet at 325 degrees for 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I made these with an electric mini doughnut griddle instead of frying, so that probably changes the taste. Made this way, these donuts definitely tasted healthy, so I wouldn't recommend them to Krispy Kreme fans without heavy frosting. If you're looking for a less sweet doughnut, these work well after a roll in 1:3 cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAGGIELB
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
PS. If you dont have flaxseed, just substitute it with a cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIELB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I have never made donuts before, and thought I'd try this one as I like flaxseed and sneaking it in things that my kids eat. They came out good. I'll have to try other recipes to see how it compares. It seemed not very stiff to make the shapes, and I didn't have the right kind of cutters, so I just dropped in spoonfuls. They were yummy. I also didn't have a thermometer to test the temp, but waited until it seemed hot. Not so bad for first time, I thought. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Sufganiyot (Donuts)

See how to make traditional Jewish doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States