Homemade Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I'll never use canned enchilada sauce again! Other than grinding your own dried chilis, it couldn't taste more authentic, and who has the time for all that when chili powder is so readily available. I made exactly as written and tasted first before adjusting seasoning. In the end I did choose to double the amount of cumin, onion powder and garlic powder as some other reviewers suggested for a little more warmth and stronger flavor. Still, as written it was good, and probably perfect for the average person who doesn't like things as spicy or intense. I personally liked the hint of sweetness from the brown sugar and didn't think it too sweet. Will use again and again from now on. Thx to Mary Kate for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
We made a batch without the sugar and it was a good sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is a good basic recipe. But I found it bland. So I doubled all the spices, used a good dash of salt and for added kick I added one whole dried Guajillo chile and a good chunk of achiote paste. I whizzed them all up in my small blender with a bit of the already prepared sauce and added more garlic to the mix as well. Divine! This is going in my posole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
When i made this i thought it was bitter and downright nasty! I threw it out and just used it as a guideline. i minced (VERY FINELY) some onion and garlic (about 1 tablespoon onion and one large garlic clove) then put the oil at a very low temp plus some salt and pepper to let the garlic and onion infuse for a few minutes. and added one teaspoon of each spice in the recipe. i also used beef broth in place of the water. i addes the tomato sauce and left it at a low simmer for 15 minutes...DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I did make a lot of changes but used this as the base for my recipe since I've never made enchilada sauce and haven't seen it sold in the stores here. I didn't have tomato sauce so I used tomato paste, water and omitted the flour. I only had about 1 tablespoon of chili powder left so I added more onion powder, garlic powder and cumin. I also added garlic salt, hot chili powder and a little celery seed for more flavor. I heated all of the spices in a little olive oil, stirring frequently on low before adding the tomato paste. It turned out delicious! I used the enchilada sauce in a taco/enchilada casserole and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was easy. A bit sweet. Very much liked by the kid who finds the canned versions too spicy. A bit sedate for spice lovers. Second time making....my sister gave me a hatch chile chocolate bar, so I skipped the brown sugar and added a bit of the chocolate. Something worth trying, folks. Think I'll still try upping the spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I made this recipe exactly and DIDNT change a thing, tastes amazing and great ft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Next time I will leave out the brown sugar altogether. Would also add extra spices and some dried red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
We made this sauce last night! Instead of garlic powder we used garlic salt and we didn't have tomato sauce so I used tomato paste deluded down by water. Since we added garlic salt no extra salt was needed. We added some ground pepper. The sauce was tangy and sweet with just a little hint of spice. It tasted amazing on our chicken enchiladas. The chicken was seasoned with some Lawrys and pepper for more flavor. I will for sure be making this sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I make enchilladas frequently so I usually have a can of sauce on hand in the pantry. However, last night when I went to the pantry, we were out so I found this recipe and will never by the canned stuff again! I thought it was a little too sweet so I won't use as much sugar next time and I did add a little more spices than called for but overall I didn't change much. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States