Homemade Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I made the recipe as written to start though once I tasted it, I did add more spices (more cumin, garlic powder, onion powder) plus fresh ground pepper and teaspoon of mexican oregano--it just needed more. I used this in Chicken Enchilada Soup, it worked out nicely. One recipe of this was just enough for a whole recipe of Chicken Enchilada Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is a great starter recipe, but I followed the other reviewer's recommendations, and went for some of my own modifications. I'm glad I did, or I'm sure I would have been disappointed. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil for more flavor depth. It only needs 1 cup water. I subbed 2 cloves chopped garlic instead of garlic powder, and 2 tsp chopped dried onions instead of onion powder. I added way more cumin (1 tsp), plus 1/2 tsp coriander, then Tabasco, salt, and pepper to taste. I omitted brown sugar altogether -- the tomatoes are sweet enough! The sauce needs to be whisked after every addition and while it's cooking. My version made about 2 cups of thick, creamy, mildly spicy sauce, and my husband loved it. Score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bowns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I agree with Sarah Jo...I did the same thing. It was good, but definitely needed more spices, so as I was cooking and tasting, I added more of the spices and pepper, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I hate to admit this, but I don't use enchilada sauce enough to know a good recipe when I see it. So I took the advice of the other two reviewers and added more cumin and onion powder. It seemed to be too much sugar to me, but perhaps it's supposed to be that sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have been looking for a good enchilada recipe for years. This one was simple and very tasty. I only put in one tbs of brown sugar because I thought it might be too sweet otherwise. I also substituted GF flour because we have a gluten allergy in the family. I also added a touch more cumin. Best homemade enchilada sauce I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Awesome! I doubled it using a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and one 15 oz can of water... I used cornstarch instead of flour for gluten free sauce and it turned out perfect. We really liked it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This works well because it allows you to control the amount of spices. Very nice. I kick myself for buying all that harsh, canned stuff over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
When i made this i thought it was bitter and downright nasty! I threw it out and just used it as a guideline. i minced (VERY FINELY) some onion and garlic (about 1 tablespoon onion and one large garlic clove) then put the oil at a very low temp plus some salt and pepper to let the garlic and onion infuse for a few minutes. and added one teaspoon of each spice in the recipe. i also used beef broth in place of the water. i addes the tomato sauce and left it at a low simmer for 15 minutes...DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal LuAnn Tate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Oh my gosh. I'm really into healthful cooking, I'm vegan and try to make interesting recipes for the whole family that don't include meat and dairy. So......buying canned stuff is not cool for me. I wanted to make enchiladas last night but realized I had no sauce. This recipe saved my night! And I had everything in stock. So easy and so tasty! My daughter said they were the best enchiladas she's ever eaten. Yay me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
We love this sauce!!! I could drink it with a straw. I do use extra cumin, garlic and onion because we like those flavors and I do for all recipes that call for them. I accidentally put some cinnamon in last time and my hubby loved it. Gave it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Living In: Hooversville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States