Homemade Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I made the recipe as written to start though once I tasted it, I did add more spices (more cumin, garlic powder, onion powder) plus fresh ground pepper and teaspoon of mexican oregano--it just needed more. I used this in Chicken Enchilada Soup, it worked out nicely. One recipe of this was just enough for a whole recipe of Chicken Enchilada Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I agree with Sarah Jo...I did the same thing. It was good, but definitely needed more spices, so as I was cooking and tasting, I added more of the spices and pepper, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I hate to admit this, but I don't use enchilada sauce enough to know a good recipe when I see it. So I took the advice of the other two reviewers and added more cumin and onion powder. It seemed to be too much sugar to me, but perhaps it's supposed to be that sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is a great starter recipe, but I followed the other reviewer's recommendations, and went for some of my own modifications. I'm glad I did, or I'm sure I would have been disappointed. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil for more flavor depth. It only needs 1 cup water. I subbed 2 cloves chopped garlic instead of garlic powder, and 2 tsp chopped dried onions instead of onion powder. I added way more cumin (1 tsp), plus 1/2 tsp coriander, then Tabasco, salt, and pepper to taste. I omitted brown sugar altogether -- the tomatoes are sweet enough! The sauce needs to be whisked after every addition and while it's cooking. My version made about 2 cups of thick, creamy, mildly spicy sauce, and my husband loved it. Score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bowns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Awesome! I doubled it using a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and one 15 oz can of water... I used cornstarch instead of flour for gluten free sauce and it turned out perfect. We really liked it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Way to much Chile powder, I went back to my old rescipe. I was born and raised in West Texas so we had enchiladas quite often as they were quick to make but the sauce makes the dish and this one did not do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I found this to be too sweet. I will make it again with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is amazing. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Dyck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made this with tomato sauce that I made from tomatoes in the garden. It is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is so great! No more buying expensive ready made cans of sauce. I have been looking for a good recipe. Tasty but not too spicy hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States