Homemade Egg Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Like the other reviewers, I also had to add 1/4 cup water to this recipe to get the dough to bind. I used my bread machine to mix the dough. Put the ingredients in the machine, selected "dough" setting, and let the machine mix it for 10 minutes, then removed the dough. It was perfect and easy to roll out. Noodles turned out delicious in our chicken soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Great recipe, just like my grandmothers. People must realize flour isn't always the same.In low humidity flour is dryer and will need more liquid, when humid less. This is true for all recipies, such as pie dough and bread. Either adding flour a little at a time or adding a very small of water at a time will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I had to add water to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brazil, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
This was the first time I ever made homemade noodles, and I had so much fun! Instead of mixing the ingredients by hand, I used a food processor. I processed the flour, salt, and egg yolks (omitted the baking powder) until mixture formed fine crumbs. Then with the processor running, I slowly added about 1/3 cup of water through the feed tube just until the dough forms a ball. (Without the water, the dough was too dry and would not form into a ball.) I let the dough ball rest for 10 minutes before dividing it into quarters and proceeding with recipe. After rolling, I let the four sheets of 12" square dough rest uncovered for 20 minutes. Then I loosely rolled up dough jelly-roll style and cut into 1/4" wide strips. Lastly, I let the strips dry on cooling racks for a couple of hours. The noodles are then cooked in canned chicken broth for about 2 to 3 minutes with baby bok choy, Vietnamese beef balls and sliced fish cakes. What a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Like the other poster, I needed to add water to bring the dough ball together. I used my stand mixer. They turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
First time I've ever made noodles and they were great! Used the leftover roast duck from Thanksgiving to make a big pot of soup -- tasty, but it wasn't very hearty until we added these. No mixer, so I did it by hand. Perhaps that's why I had to add 1/4-1/3 c. milk to get it all to bind. It didn't look too promising, but it rolled out OK. Rested it about 20 minutes then cut and air dried noodles for a few hours. Cooked them in the broth at a really low boil and they were tender but with substance to them. From now on leave the spaghetti noodles to spaghetti sauce -- this can't be beat for soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
extremely easy recipe and wonderful tasting. I never made homemade noodles before and now i've found out why these homemade noodles are far better than the packaged kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linlee70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Just like my granadma use to make, they are from Indiana and so this recipes makes sence now. They sell something similar in the stores called Grandma's Old Fashioned Egg Noodles but they have discontinued them. I had to revert back to the real thing. Better from scratch by far! Try using a pasta cutter and roller it make the cutting go by SUPER quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmelyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
very quick and easy to make. tastes great. the only thing i did different is that i cooked noodles right away, while still fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I love theses I make a ton of these and package them up and put the extra in the freezer. They are great year round not that they last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Grandma’s Noodles II

See how to make homemade soup noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States