Homemade Egg Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
In my home section of Indiana, homemade egg noodles are about as common as fresh-baked bread! Noodle dinners are popular community events and there is some small amount of competition as to who's are best. The recipe passed down to me through at least 4 generations can be found in "Betty Crocker's Cookbook". My family has slightly altered that recipe by using half-and-half in place of water, which creates a richer-tasting noodle. If the dough is dry and crumbly before rolling, adding egg yolks or more half-and-half will easily fix the problem. We often fix them with beef or chicken for a family dinner, and Thanksgiving without noodles in turkey broth would be unthinkable! Also, if you are a real Hoosier, you eat your noodles on top of mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
This was the first time I ever made homemade noodles, and I had so much fun! Instead of mixing the ingredients by hand, I used a food processor. I processed the flour, salt, and egg yolks (omitted the baking powder) until mixture formed fine crumbs. Then with the processor running, I slowly added about 1/3 cup of water through the feed tube just until the dough forms a ball. (Without the water, the dough was too dry and would not form into a ball.) I let the dough ball rest for 10 minutes before dividing it into quarters and proceeding with recipe. After rolling, I let the four sheets of 12" square dough rest uncovered for 20 minutes. Then I loosely rolled up dough jelly-roll style and cut into 1/4" wide strips. Lastly, I let the strips dry on cooling racks for a couple of hours. The noodles are then cooked in canned chicken broth for about 2 to 3 minutes with baby bok choy, Vietnamese beef balls and sliced fish cakes. What a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Like the other reviewers, I also had to add 1/4 cup water to this recipe to get the dough to bind. I used my bread machine to mix the dough. Put the ingredients in the machine, selected "dough" setting, and let the machine mix it for 10 minutes, then removed the dough. It was perfect and easy to roll out. Noodles turned out delicious in our chicken soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Great recipe, just like my grandmothers. People must realize flour isn't always the same.In low humidity flour is dryer and will need more liquid, when humid less. This is true for all recipies, such as pie dough and bread. Either adding flour a little at a time or adding a very small of water at a time will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I have to agree with JORDANBENE because I'm a Hoosier too. After many moves I've lost my Betty Crocker cookbook so I had to improvise the day before Thanksgiving. I used the recipe given and added 1/2 cup of half and half. There was still some trouble with dryness so I added about 1 tablespoon of egg white. They are drying now so I can't comment on how they will actually taste but hoping for the best. Tips are always good: If you don't own a noodle cutter, try using a pizza slicer---works fantastic. A knife is too time consuming and harder to control the noodle size. Always use your turkey broth for cooking and scrape the pan to get the good bits and pieces off----it adds loads of flavor. Happy Thanksgiving! Upate: Don't roll these out TOO thin......I did and ended up with a globby mess that barely resembeled noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
These are very similar to my grandmother's egg noodles. I used one whole egg and three yolks (like my grandmother did) and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
extremely easy recipe and wonderful tasting. I never made homemade noodles before and now i've found out why these homemade noodles are far better than the packaged kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linlee70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I had to add water to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brazil, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
There is definitely something missing in this recipe - liquid. Four egg yolks is not enough to bring together 2 cups of flour (unless they're ostrich eggs). I had to add back two whites and a splash of milk for my dough to be workable. Another key here is letting the dough rest. I'd suggest wrapping it in plastic wrap and walking away for a good 15 minutes. I rolled out 3/4 of my dough and was called away before the 4th. When I returned to roll it out, it was much easier and I was able to roll it much thinner. I dried my noodles on cookie racks near the oven for about an hour. The recipe doesn't mention it, but homemade noodles take MUCH longer to cook than store bought. I boiled these in chicken broth for about half an hour or more before they were tender. Then I thickened the broth with a flour/water slurry for serving (important to let this boil for several minutes.) The result was well worth the effort. I will definitely make this again WITH my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Very easy recipe. I added 3 egg yolk and one whole egg. It was easy dough to work with. We really enjoyed this boiled in chicken broth with shredded chicken, fresh carrots, and a few cubed potatoes. I thickened the broth after cooking with a little corn starch. Very yummy, hearty comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARK89

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Grandma’s Noodles II

See how to make homemade soup noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States