Homemade Egg Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
This was the first time I ever made homemade noodles, and I had so much fun! Instead of mixing the ingredients by hand, I used a food processor. I processed the flour, salt, and egg yolks (omitted the baking powder) until mixture formed fine crumbs. Then with the processor running, I slowly added about 1/3 cup of water through the feed tube just until the dough forms a ball. (Without the water, the dough was too dry and would not form into a ball.) I let the dough ball rest for 10 minutes before dividing it into quarters and proceeding with recipe. After rolling, I let the four sheets of 12" square dough rest uncovered for 20 minutes. Then I loosely rolled up dough jelly-roll style and cut into 1/4" wide strips. Lastly, I let the strips dry on cooling racks for a couple of hours. The noodles are then cooked in canned chicken broth for about 2 to 3 minutes with baby bok choy, Vietnamese beef balls and sliced fish cakes. What a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Like the other poster, I needed to add water to bring the dough ball together. I used my stand mixer. They turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
First time I've ever made noodles and they were great! Used the leftover roast duck from Thanksgiving to make a big pot of soup -- tasty, but it wasn't very hearty until we added these. No mixer, so I did it by hand. Perhaps that's why I had to add 1/4-1/3 c. milk to get it all to bind. It didn't look too promising, but it rolled out OK. Rested it about 20 minutes then cut and air dried noodles for a few hours. Cooked them in the broth at a really low boil and they were tender but with substance to them. From now on leave the spaghetti noodles to spaghetti sauce -- this can't be beat for soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Like the other reviewers, I also had to add 1/4 cup water to this recipe to get the dough to bind. I used my bread machine to mix the dough. Put the ingredients in the machine, selected "dough" setting, and let the machine mix it for 10 minutes, then removed the dough. It was perfect and easy to roll out. Noodles turned out delicious in our chicken soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
These were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
In my home section of Indiana, homemade egg noodles are about as common as fresh-baked bread! Noodle dinners are popular community events and there is some small amount of competition as to who's are best. The recipe passed down to me through at least 4 generations can be found in "Betty Crocker's Cookbook". My family has slightly altered that recipe by using half-and-half in place of water, which creates a richer-tasting noodle. If the dough is dry and crumbly before rolling, adding egg yolks or more half-and-half will easily fix the problem. We often fix them with beef or chicken for a family dinner, and Thanksgiving without noodles in turkey broth would be unthinkable! Also, if you are a real Hoosier, you eat your noodles on top of mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Very easy recipe. I added 3 egg yolk and one whole egg. It was easy dough to work with. We really enjoyed this boiled in chicken broth with shredded chicken, fresh carrots, and a few cubed potatoes. I thickened the broth after cooking with a little corn starch. Very yummy, hearty comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARK89

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This recipe was not very specific... I have never made home-made noodles before, and messed up the recipe the first time. When I re did it, it was allot better, but also had to add water... Not one of my favorite recipes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Like many, I learned how to cook from my mom and her mom and her mom, but never have I made noodles and not used water, I am constantly trying new recipes to see how they compare to my own, but this one is probaby not one I will be repeating. I think I will stick my own. Thanks anyway, always worth a shot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I have to agree with JORDANBENE because I'm a Hoosier too. After many moves I've lost my Betty Crocker cookbook so I had to improvise the day before Thanksgiving. I used the recipe given and added 1/2 cup of half and half. There was still some trouble with dryness so I added about 1 tablespoon of egg white. They are drying now so I can't comment on how they will actually taste but hoping for the best. Tips are always good: If you don't own a noodle cutter, try using a pizza slicer---works fantastic. A knife is too time consuming and harder to control the noodle size. Always use your turkey broth for cooking and scrape the pan to get the good bits and pieces off----it adds loads of flavor. Happy Thanksgiving! Upate: Don't roll these out TOO thin......I did and ended up with a globby mess that barely resembeled noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Grandma’s Noodles II

See how to make homemade soup noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States