Homemade Egg Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
didn't come out rght, dough was too dry, we didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
OK - seemed like a lot of work. Be sure to roll them VERY think or they cook up like little dough-balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I should have read the comments before making this. It didn't work at all. I ended up using 6 egg yolks and about 4 Tbsp. water before I finally gave up. It was a crumbly mess and like leather by the time I got it into a ball. But I may try this again with the suggestions from the other users. It seems like the bones are there for this to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I love theses I make a ton of these and package them up and put the extra in the freezer. They are great year round not that they last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is the first time I ever made homemade egg noodles. I used 2 eggs instead of 4 yolks and my noodles were too dry. I added a little water but should have added more. I found this out when reading through the reviews. Which I have discovered is a best way to learn about a recipe! I cooked these in my homemade chicken noodle soup but the noodles were too stiff. I think I needed to add more liquid. Also I made these by hand. I don't have a mixer w/dough hook. I can't wait to make them again and incorporate all the suggestions I found here. BTW my soup turned out fabulous even with stiff noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Great recipe, just like my grandmothers. People must realize flour isn't always the same.In low humidity flour is dryer and will need more liquid, when humid less. This is true for all recipies, such as pie dough and bread. Either adding flour a little at a time or adding a very small of water at a time will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
My mother and i tried this recipe the dough wouldnt come together its like this recipe review "As I followed the recipe, the dough never came together. I am a novice at cooking, so when I use a recipe, I expect that all the ingredients would be listed. They weren't. After adding two more egg yolks for a total of six the two cups of flour was just that. I had to scramble for other recipes to find out what I could use to save my egg noodles. I added 1 tbls of olive oil, water, and some egg whites. Only after adding these added ingredients the dough come together. My noodles are now in the drying stage. I only hope they turn out for my small get together to night! Very disatisfied, the beginner! "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This recipe has the classic ingredients of "grandma's" egg noodles, but forgot the water! I had to add about 1/3 cup, then the dough formed into a ball like it's supposed to. Here's another tip: After rolling out the dough, roll it up, jelly-roll style, then you can easily cut the noodle strips. (That's how MY grandma did it!) Unroll them to dry, then boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
very quick and easy to make. tastes great. the only thing i did different is that i cooked noodles right away, while still fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
this recipie was a great start to a fabulous noodle. I had 12 leftover egg yolks from an angel food cake, so I tripled the recipie. It was not moist at all, so I added 6 tablespoons of half and half and 1 cup of milk. I am going to keep this recipie and use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Sorensen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Grandma’s Noodles II

See how to make homemade soup noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States