Homemade Egg Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I rated this as one star because if I followed this recipe exactly, it would not work. I agree with other comments that this recipe is missing liquid--no matter the humidity of the location! I added water to my noodles to make it functional and then it was tasty. Sorry, not a good recipe unless altered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
There is definitely something missing in this recipe - liquid. Four egg yolks is not enough to bring together 2 cups of flour (unless they're ostrich eggs). I had to add back two whites and a splash of milk for my dough to be workable. Another key here is letting the dough rest. I'd suggest wrapping it in plastic wrap and walking away for a good 15 minutes. I rolled out 3/4 of my dough and was called away before the 4th. When I returned to roll it out, it was much easier and I was able to roll it much thinner. I dried my noodles on cookie racks near the oven for about an hour. The recipe doesn't mention it, but homemade noodles take MUCH longer to cook than store bought. I boiled these in chicken broth for about half an hour or more before they were tender. Then I thickened the broth with a flour/water slurry for serving (important to let this boil for several minutes.) The result was well worth the effort. I will definitely make this again WITH my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love this recipe. have used it a few times now and if you are in a low humidity area you will have to add a bit of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
As written, this recipe does not work. It is way too dry and I had to add water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I have never made my own noodles before. Mine came out really tough. I added some water but I wasn't sure how much to add (added about 1/3 cup). Looks like maybe I should have added more. This seems like a recipe that you have to experiment with a few times before you get a good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I too had to add a half a cup of water but these noodles came out great. I loved them!!!! Thank you for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
didn't come out rght, dough was too dry, we didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
OK - seemed like a lot of work. Be sure to roll them VERY think or they cook up like little dough-balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I should have read the comments before making this. It didn't work at all. I ended up using 6 egg yolks and about 4 Tbsp. water before I finally gave up. It was a crumbly mess and like leather by the time I got it into a ball. But I may try this again with the suggestions from the other users. It seems like the bones are there for this to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Grandma’s Noodles II

See how to make homemade soup noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States