Homemade Egg Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LompocCook
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is a very easy recipe, but I am not an experienced noodle-maker and managed to mess it up. Does anyone have advice as to how you know when your noodles are dry enough? A word of caution to fellow inexperienced noodle-makers who want to try this recipe: really think about how thick or thin you want your noodles to be. After reading a note warning not to make the noodles too thin, I went too far in the other direction and made really fat ones that were tasty, but enormous when cooked and not very pliable. All in all, still a great recipe that will get easier with practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LompocCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
very good! I made Brotchen, which called for 4 egg whites, leaving me with 4 egg yolks, which was the perfect amount for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndejong765

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I rated this as one star because if I followed this recipe exactly, it would not work. I agree with other comments that this recipe is missing liquid--no matter the humidity of the location! I added water to my noodles to make it functional and then it was tasty. Sorry, not a good recipe unless altered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
There is definitely something missing in this recipe - liquid. Four egg yolks is not enough to bring together 2 cups of flour (unless they're ostrich eggs). I had to add back two whites and a splash of milk for my dough to be workable. Another key here is letting the dough rest. I'd suggest wrapping it in plastic wrap and walking away for a good 15 minutes. I rolled out 3/4 of my dough and was called away before the 4th. When I returned to roll it out, it was much easier and I was able to roll it much thinner. I dried my noodles on cookie racks near the oven for about an hour. The recipe doesn't mention it, but homemade noodles take MUCH longer to cook than store bought. I boiled these in chicken broth for about half an hour or more before they were tender. Then I thickened the broth with a flour/water slurry for serving (important to let this boil for several minutes.) The result was well worth the effort. I will definitely make this again WITH my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love this recipe. have used it a few times now and if you are in a low humidity area you will have to add a bit of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
As written, this recipe does not work. It is way too dry and I had to add water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I have never made my own noodles before. Mine came out really tough. I added some water but I wasn't sure how much to add (added about 1/3 cup). Looks like maybe I should have added more. This seems like a recipe that you have to experiment with a few times before you get a good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I too had to add a half a cup of water but these noodles came out great. I loved them!!!! Thank you for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
didn't come out rght, dough was too dry, we didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Grandma’s Noodles II

See how to make homemade soup noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States