Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
A couple people mentioned that they add garlic powder to the recipe, NEVER GIVE A DOG GARLIC! I CANT STRESS THIS ENOUGH. Onions too, even in powdered form they are extremely TOXIC... to dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I have been making this recipe in my crock pot. I will often put in chicken breasts or thighs...left over vegetables..brown rice.. Put all the ingredients in and let it cook all day with a bit of water. The rice turns soft. I always mix it with a high quality dry food to give them the nutrients. They love it and my chubby one has lost weight on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I think this is a really nice base recipe, but that tweaking it a little is a good idea. I stuck with the brown rice and ground turkey, but left out the rosemary, as I don't think it's necessary. For vegetables, I added diced sweet potatoes, which I boiled and then mashed afterward for easier consumption. For calcium, I added a couple spponfuls of fat-free, plain Greek yogurt. My 10 year old Chihuahua-Jack Russell mix went wild over this. You can also substitute the ground turkey for boiled chicken breast, which can be shredded after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this for my 10 year old girl. She loved it! She spent as much time licking the dish clean as she did actually eating her meal. I will be feeding this all the time now due to more reports of harmful ingredients in more pet treats & food. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manchester, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Having rescued a very malnourished dog who does not like commercial dog food, I thought I would try to make my own. This was the first recipe I tried and she loves it. I do vary it depending on the ingredients I have on hand, and sometimes just make the rice and veggie mixture, then add canned chicken or poach a chicken breast in broth. Make a batch once a week and put into separate ziplock bags for easy use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Skinner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Good recipe. I started making my dogs food 4 years ago. I went the raw route. I like everyone's comments. I've done the research too. I finally invested in a powerful grinder. I wanted to stress the calcium that has to be added. The egg shells are great and I still add them when they eat beef etc when I can't grind the bones of most poltry and rabit. They all get raw meaty bones, fish oil, prozyme, kelp, and ester c. I very the ground vegetables. Cale and collard greens are high on the list. Carrots, apples, blueberries, cranberries, greenbeans. I also switch back and forth between brown rice and Quinoa. The toxic foods were already mentioned. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This food lacks so many nutrients! There is no calcium, no fats, no minerals to speak of. This would be fine for a treat once in a while but as a daily food, it would leave your dogs malnourished and possibly lead to bone disorders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Dogs are not suppose to have Turkey it is bad for their stomachs. Using chicken in this recipe would be better..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andreiswife

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
my dogs love this! i change it up once in a while adding different meats and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I have a pom terrier mix who turned 3 yesterday :) I made this recipe right on time for his bday and he is a little bit overweight and I adore him and want to feed him fresh food plus he loves veggies and fruits!!! I give him 1/2 for breakfast and another 1/2 at dinner, and oh how he loves it. I followed the exact recipe and I think it will last 2 weeks which is great, I want to serve it fresh everyday. Bonus, pop each meal in the microwave for 16 seconds, my dog feels human :) Great recipe. Please add an easy and cheap recipe for treats please!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States