Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Good recipe. I started making my dogs food 4 years ago. I went the raw route. I like everyone's comments. I've done the research too. I finally invested in a powerful grinder. I wanted to stress the calcium that has to be added. The egg shells are great and I still add them when they eat beef etc when I can't grind the bones of most poltry and rabit. They all get raw meaty bones, fish oil, prozyme, kelp, and ester c. I very the ground vegetables. Cale and collard greens are high on the list. Carrots, apples, blueberries, cranberries, greenbeans. I also switch back and forth between brown rice and Quinoa. The toxic foods were already mentioned. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This food lacks so many nutrients! There is no calcium, no fats, no minerals to speak of. This would be fine for a treat once in a while but as a daily food, it would leave your dogs malnourished and possibly lead to bone disorders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Dogs are not suppose to have Turkey it is bad for their stomachs. Using chicken in this recipe would be better..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andreiswife

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
my dogs love this! i change it up once in a while adding different meats and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I have a pom terrier mix who turned 3 yesterday :) I made this recipe right on time for his bday and he is a little bit overweight and I adore him and want to feed him fresh food plus he loves veggies and fruits!!! I give him 1/2 for breakfast and another 1/2 at dinner, and oh how he loves it. I followed the exact recipe and I think it will last 2 weeks which is great, I want to serve it fresh everyday. Bonus, pop each meal in the microwave for 16 seconds, my dog feels human :) Great recipe. Please add an easy and cheap recipe for treats please!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I'm assuming the brown rice is already cooked? I want the proportions to be right. I bought some brown rice but it needs to be cooked longer than that.... So the rice is cooked but the ground turkey and veggies get cooked up in it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My 2 chihuahuas love this recipe. I add vitimans & a vet. recommended fish oil every day. Recipe calls for 2 cups of rice & I'm not sure if it means cooked or uncooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I have been feeding my dogs Homemade Dog Food for over 2 months, they just love it, my only concern is that they now have AWEFUL bad breath, what causes this, and what can I do. Should I be concerned that there may be something wrong with my dogs? Please help does anyone know why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Warning to anyone using this recipe to feed their dogs long-term (more than 3 months)...this contains no calcium and is deficient in many vitamins and minerals. If you want to cook for your pet long-term, find a veterinary nutritionist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
We ground up the Broccoli, carrots and cauliflower as well as used fresh not frozen and our dogs love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeramy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States