Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
my dogs love this! i change it up once in a while adding different meats and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I have a pom terrier mix who turned 3 yesterday :) I made this recipe right on time for his bday and he is a little bit overweight and I adore him and want to feed him fresh food plus he loves veggies and fruits!!! I give him 1/2 for breakfast and another 1/2 at dinner, and oh how he loves it. I followed the exact recipe and I think it will last 2 weeks which is great, I want to serve it fresh everyday. Bonus, pop each meal in the microwave for 16 seconds, my dog feels human :) Great recipe. Please add an easy and cheap recipe for treats please!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I'm assuming the brown rice is already cooked? I want the proportions to be right. I bought some brown rice but it needs to be cooked longer than that.... So the rice is cooked but the ground turkey and veggies get cooked up in it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My 2 chihuahuas love this recipe. I add vitimans & a vet. recommended fish oil every day. Recipe calls for 2 cups of rice & I'm not sure if it means cooked or uncooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I have been feeding my dogs Homemade Dog Food for over 2 months, they just love it, my only concern is that they now have AWEFUL bad breath, what causes this, and what can I do. Should I be concerned that there may be something wrong with my dogs? Please help does anyone know why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Warning to anyone using this recipe to feed their dogs long-term (more than 3 months)...this contains no calcium and is deficient in many vitamins and minerals. If you want to cook for your pet long-term, find a veterinary nutritionist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
We ground up the Broccoli, carrots and cauliflower as well as used fresh not frozen and our dogs love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeramy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I have 4 Chihuahuas and have made this recipe for them since there was a problem with commercial dog food containing melamine from China so it has been a long time.. I had started with a high quality dog food but did not want to risk feeding my babies something that would hurt them. My four are 12,10 and two at 8 years old and they love this. For convenience I buy rolls of frozen ground turkey, bags of frozen peas and carrots, brown rice and all bran cereal. I make sure I cook the ground turkey thoroughly and I blend the peas and carrots plus the cooked ground turkey in my food processor. I cook the brown rice in my rice cooker and then mix the meat and veggie mix together with the brown rice and all bran cereal. They each have 1/3 cup for breakfast and 1/3 cup for dinner.When they finish they get one chunk of a dental dog food I buy at the vets to help clean the soft food off their teeth. I do add a small spoon of a nutritional supplement to their evening meal that supplies any possible missed nutrients plus glucosmine. They are thriving and love this mix. Currently I use three cups of rice to one pound of turkey but next time I plan on changing the ratio to two cups of rice to one pound of ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I made this for my girls tonight and they loved it!!! Licked the bowls clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Great basic recipe that I have been using for my German Shephards for years, who are tip top shape and very happy! I found that not only does it keep them pysically healthy but it also makes them calmer. My girl had anxiety that resumed with this homemade feeding protocole. I use this recipe as a foundation and try to vary the ingredients as often as possible. I slowcook it for a long time depending on the grain and veggies I use. I will sometimes add one or two of the following: yogourt, cottage cheese, sardines, lentils and fruits, such as pears, apples, peaches, bluberries and local beef hearts and liver, in small quantities. When upset tummies, I use white calrose rice as the grain, grated carrots and canned salmon or whitefish. I add bentonite clay and probiotics and it restores the tummy in no time without having to fast. I use local products as much as possible and try to use meat that is free range. I am thinking of starting to add a liquid children multi-vitamin, just to be on the safe side. All that I can say is that my babies are better fed than myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States