Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is a great basic recipie and that is what I have been looking for to know portions to add of each ingredient! Since I have 2 dogs, one eating 4 C a day and the other eating 2 C a day, I tripled this recipe and froze what I would not use in 3 days. I also cook seperate and add Yams finely broken up. I also add just before feeding a scoop of Ultimate Canine Health Formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
My dogs love it! I added garlic powder, fat free cottage cheese and beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I make something similar to this, however, I use chicken livers instead. I boil the livers and chop them finely and use a rice steamer for the rice. Once the rice is done, I add in the frozen peas and carrots and let them warm through. I mix the liver, rice, veggies and broth together. Once cooled I put them in freezer bags and freeze until I need it for the pups. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Rios-Stroud

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
So far so good ! I have a question, what is the rosemary for ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing. My vet as put my doggy on a basic homemade diet for a few days but I didn't think to ask the ratio! Thanks again! Jenny says, "Woof! Woof!" and gives it two paws up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is not a bad basic recipe, but there are a few things not addressed. I have been making my own pet foods for several years now, and while the protein to carbohydrate ratio in this is not bad, there are no organ meats to provide added essential nutrients (I would throw in a couple of chicken hearts and livers), there is no calcium source (a couple of tums with calcium would do), and no table salt to add iodine. Also, dogs do not chew as humans do, and their bodies will not break down vegetable matter as well as ours can, so all vegetables should be well pureed so that your dog can get the maximum nutritional value from it. It should also be noted that while many well cooked, pureed veggies are fine for your dog, onions, raisins, garlic, grapes, and even tomatoes should be avoided, because they contain naturally occurring ingredients that can cause various health problems in your pet. I would also prefer to see a little more fat in this recipe for a normal weight dog, their bodies need more fat than ours do. My dog is on a 35% meat, 15% fat, 40% grain (always rice, corn and wheat are allergens) and about 10% vegetable matter diet, and he does very well. This recipe is good in principle, it just needs a few things added :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I just started making dog food because we tried to upgrade our dog food and he quite eatting and wouldn't eat his old brand. Was I happy when he ate and carried his empty dish around the house! I learned many good tips and will try roasting egg shells and grind them to a powder for calicum. I have not ground the veggies but will in the future. Who knew dogs have small intestines? Bone meal and punkin were good suggestions. I have been picking dandeline leaves and adding that in the pot. I did celery too and my husband wants to know why the dog is fed better then he is! Thank you for all the good tips. I have one for you, when I told my vet the dog spits out his pills she told me to wrap it in sandwish cheese and he won't even know he ate it. I doubted she was right but she was. the dog needs calicum cottage cheese and yogart will work for that but fish oil or vitimens will be wrapped and gobbled up for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
My dog loves this recipe. I take the veggies and the drippings from the pan (from browning the ground turkey in a bit of olive oil) and puree them with roughly 2 egg shells per recipe (for calcium.) I cook the rice separately, and stir all the ingredients together in the end. I've done a ton of research, and as stated before, this is a great base. You could do this with beef, chicken, venison, or lamb as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Just food for thought: What dogs ate in the wild and what "nature" provided only needed to keep them alive long enough to reproduce. I doubt any of them lived to the old ages our pets manage. So much for the value of "natural" diets. Same goes for humans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
A couple people mentioned that they add garlic powder to the recipe, NEVER GIVE A DOG GARLIC! I CANT STRESS THIS ENOUGH. Onions too, even in powdered form they are extremely TOXIC... to dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States