Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This is amazing! I have a little Chihuahua that has refused to eat dog food ever since I adopted her. The only thing she would ever eat was scraps from human food, or few select treats. I tried this out and SHE LOVES IT!!!! I have never seen her eat like this before and has so much more energy now! To anyone with a dog that is a finicky eater, I recommend trying this out!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This recipe lacks calcium and vitamin D, both nutritional requirements for dogs. It is also deficient in canine vitamin E requirements. A dog's digestive tract is very short, and the vegetables in this recipe should be ground in order for the dog to get the full nutritional benefit of the vegetables. Current thinking in canine nutrition is similar to people, in that dogs also benefit from DHA, which is in their mother's milk. Fish and fish oil are good sources of this. I would add some safflower oil, for vitamin E to this recipe, and some salmon oil for omega 3 fats and DHA. Additionally, some sardines would provide vitamin D. Some cottage cheese and/or yogurt would provide calcium. Another option for calcium would be bone meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Ok, so i cooked this recipe. I added some Natural omega-3 fish oil. I also added some dog vitamins to it to help balance it out and not have to feed it to him later in the day. I am using fresh zucchini and squash along with a banana. I put a tablespoon of peanut butter, and some peas in it. I added parsley to help with his breath. Just to comment on other posts, you should never add GARLIC of any kind to your dogs food, it is very bad for them and is a poison to them. It causes gastrointestinal problems, and red blood cell damage can occur as a result of feeding garlic to pets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
My dog will never eat canned dog food, but he loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I just started making my Rat Terrier his dog food and he's been healthy ever since. I put a couple boneless chicken breasts, a lb of baby carrots in a slow cooker w/ a lot of water and cook all day. The last hour I add frozen green peas and brown and white rice. (No seasonings, herbs, or spices). When it's done it's like Chicken Stew. I freeze individual servings and remove from freezer daily. My dog loves it. It's easy for me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
As with most people, I am getting more concerned with the quality of store bought food even if you buy high quality. I make something like this recipe for my dogs every week. I buy chicken legs on sale. Bake them, remove all meat. Make broth from bones and skin. Add finely chopped chicken meat, sweet potatoes and carrots to broth. Cook rice in broth. I give them half store bought food and half chicken and rice for each meal. The dogs love it and it is healthier than 100% store bought food. If I knew I could give them all the nutrients they needed in homemade food, I would totally eliminate store bought food and dog treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
My dog loved it. I followed lemontreestudios advice as well left in comments. I joined this site just for this recipe I wonder what else is on here for me and my dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
My senior pooch loves this recipe (with a few additions). She is a good eater, but has an allergy to beef that gives her seizures. She adores all of the beta carotene veggies... Pumpkin, carrots, sweet potatoes, squash... So I add a can of mashed sweet potatoes or pumpkin, blended veggies, and a teaspoon of garlic powder ground with a teaspoon of rosemary. I brown either ground turkey or chicken, use 1 cup brown rice and 1 cup oatmeal, 2 chicken bouillon cubes. But here's the kicker, I put that all in my slow cooker with the 6 cups of water, on low, before bed.... in the morning I turn it up to high for 1/2 hour or so and add two eggs and eggshells as described by other reviewers. Voila! Dog food for breakfast! I just have to keep my husband out of it. He he he
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My pup absolutely loves this recipe! I certainly don't want to overfeed her, but she eats every bit I put in front of her. Obviously she loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lgillam
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I love this recipe as a basic recipe. I've learned to use as lean as meat as possible. She (Leila, a chihuahua/dachsund mix), was vomiting solid hard kibble like chunks that reminded me of a piece of meat and fat. After realizing what it was, I stopped the cheap ground beef and am now buying the leaner beef or turkey. I vary the veggies just a bit too using green beans and carrots and sometimes spinach or other leafy greens. Blending them in the blender with a little water provides a minced texture that makes it easier for them to get the full nutritional value and digest. Then I add it to the meat and fiber; which I boil first. I also mix up the fiber by using brown rice and white mixed or lentils. Another idea for added protein is to add 2-3 eggs directly in the boiling water allowing them to cook the last few minutes. The only thing I'm really stuck on is getting enough calcium. The dark greens help a little, but I think she needs more. My cousin/veterinarian said to use calcium supplements. Anything for our canine companians right??? And that's my 2 cents....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States