Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
My very fussy 12 yo shih tzu LOVED it and has had so much more energy. I add an egg and cottage cheese (for calcium) and then place in food processor as she has not many teeth left. I keep in fridge and warm to room temp before feeding. So thankful to find a palatable recipe for her. I change up the meat for variety and once a week include organ meats for the iron. I have been buying ridiculously expensive tin foods from my vet and still had to coax her to eat. Not with this food she willingly gobbles it up and is healthier then she has ever been and I am spending less. A win-win. Thank you for this recipe redgirl !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
An extra note: Rosemary is widely regarded by herbalists as a natural stimulant, fine for most dogs, it is often suggested that it should not be given to epileptic dogs as it may increase the incidence or severity of seizures. Kelp would be a great addition as well as egg and the shells ground up for "natural" calcium not chemical. I also found dogs with colitis (greenish poop) have a hard time with the rice so I have been feeding one of my girls a 50/50 mixture of yellow sweet potato (not yam) and regular potato. I have been making my own dogs food as well and I think variey is also the best choice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 74-SWEDISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I just made this dog food and let my dog try a little. She seems like and ate them all. Like some people said I did blend all the vegi. One of the reason is my dog is old she is almost 12. I am glad that I found this site and I think I will keep continue to made this dog food for my girl. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I give my dogs veggies all day every day. Even onions.. My dogs LOVE onions. I DO NOT however give them carrots because I had one that was deathly allergic to carrots so much that the vet thought she had parvo and wanted to put her down. I refused to let him and thank god I did cause she lived to be happy and healthy after she got better. I never gave her carrots again, and I dont want to go through that again, so I will never give another one of my dogs Carrots.. Also, Garlic is GOOD for them. It keeps fleas off them and its good for their heart. I give my 50lb dogs each a 1/2 of a garlic clove once a week. No fleas. I think you should just trial and error to see what is good for your dogs.. My lola loves broccoli but my Buddy and Vivian do not. When Im chopping up broccoli for our dinner, she comes running and sits beside me and eats the whole pieces that I drop to her. I have NEVER given them meat though, so if I try this recipe I will be stepping out of my comfort zone. I definately want to try it though with all the pet deaths and sicknesses going on from treats that are coming from China. I want to know what my furbabies are eating..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I do mine just a little differently, but my dog is tired of it and he needs coaxing to eat. We boil chicken breast, when the chicken is almost done we throw in a bag of rice (brown or white) we mix canned sweet potatoes, peas and carrots. Everything is put through the food chopper and refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Patterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
The dog loves this. I have made it three times. I have cut the liquid in it each time. 4 cups of water is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
My dog loves this recipe!!!! Eating this food is the highlight of her day. I use mixed vegetables (carrots, corn, peas). She digests this food perfectly and never gets tired of it. I store some of it in the freezer for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is a good basic pecipe to add to. First a lot of research has been made, since this recipe was written and reviewed, into the good/bad of garlic. It is fine for dogs. You just adding a small amount if you add it. I sprinkle a little on each meal.For calcium I give Cooper a spoonful of yogurt. He also gets 1 sardine per day. I use peas and carrots. For snacks he gets banana chips and plain popcorn. Also latest research.... Brown rice has more nutrients but it is not digestible in dogs so white rice is the better option because it is easily digested, just make sure you are cooking it very soft and dont drain rinse etc. Oh, and one more thing, do not use liver everyday. That is WAY to much iron. There is new research and tons of it. Use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Ran out of dog food this afternoon so quickly googled homemade dog food. My dog just loved it!! It was easy and I know all the ingredients she just had. I did cook the veggies and then used the blender but wow ... she just cleaned the bowl like there was no tomorrow. HA She definitely loved people food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is a good recipe and a version of what I fed my dog. I used white rice, I use white and brown rice for the family as well. I didn't add the rosemary or other herbs but it's a great idea. My dobie lived 16 years and I'm convinced it was due to taking her off conventional dog food. I don't think y'all need to be such sticklers just get them off the company garbage. Like I said she lived to be 16 almost unheard of for a large Doberman Dog. Sabrina 1997 to May 22, 2013. I'm still grieving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States