Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
My dogs love this food! I sometimes add more veggies, whatever I have on hand. Sometimes I switch the meat and use chicken thighs which I cook and then remove the bones. I then add the thigh meat back into the broth, add the brown rice cooking again until the rice is done then stir in finely chopped veggies. My dogs are also supplemented with Greek yogurt daily, and raw beef marrow bones a few times a week for additional benefits. This recipe should not be the only food that a dog eats. They need a variety of things like we do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Both my Multipoo and my Chow/Terrier love this dog food. It is extremely healthy and tastes good too. Humans should eat this well. What I like about it is you can hide liquid vitamins, other supplements or Rx as prescribed by the Vet. The rosemary is strong and can mask the smell some what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This recipe is good base for home made dog food. It is is to tweak for the needs of different dogs or according to veterinarian recommendations. One thing that puzzled me was why the rosemary until I made it with out. It's to cover the odd smell of boiling meat. I also change around the meat and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Rube Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverview, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My dog likes it, but I used 2 cups brown rice for 3 lbs turkey, I fed her 1/2 cup in the morning 1/2 in the evening. I also give her a multi vitamin each day. She weighs 12 - 13 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This is the first thing I could get my dog to really eat after an illness where she lost quite a bit of weight. She's a 5 lb Yorkie, NOW. Except I used a different veggie mix, as broccoli and cauliflower can build up toxicity in dogs, but maybe just raw. I used a drained can of VegAll, drained, after cooking while still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
So far so good, the only thing extra I added was some fish oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is the first time I have made this food for my beloved Border Collies. They love it. They have been on a holistic brand of food for many years until the price went through the roof. I am mixing this with the kibble and wow, it's chow down time. They lick the bowl clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Graham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I have been making this recipe for almost a year and my dog loves it. We would waste so much money on store bought food that he wouldn't eat. He enjoys this food so much that he literally licks the bowl clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Thanks for this recipe...I have a 14 3/4 y/o black lab/chow mix who has started having health issues and after eating hard food all of her life is now refusing it...so I tried this...I did 2 chicken breasts (boneless), with carrots, sweet potato and brown rice. I let it cook till super tender and she loves it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
My Chihuahua is eating this food as I write this, and licking the dish clean. When I make this again I will double the meat - and I am actually thawing another pound of ground turkey now to cook separately and add to the original recipe. I might cut down the rice by a third or so. I also put mixed veggies in the blender and chopped them fine before adding them. He's a very picky eater, so I'm glad I found a basic recipe he likes. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States