Homemade Deviled Ham Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This was so good. When I was a kid, deviled ham and cream cheese was my very favorite sandwich. The canned stuff is just awful, nutritionally so I made due with good memories. When I found this recipe, I knew I had to try it. I used fat free mayo, a very lean ham and left out the carway seed. I toosed it all into the food processor. I made a sandwich with this and fat free cream cheese... and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was really tasty. I used leftover ham from the holidays. My kids don't really like onions or celery pieces so I threw those in last and gave the food processor a couple of short bursts. They loved it on triskets. I thought the recipe was relatively healthy for a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This made tasty sandwiches for Mr. C & I today, and a great way to use up left over ham. Win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I was able to get ham "ends" at my local grocery deli--I just cubed up enough to make 1 1/2 cups. (I made a ham spread a couple years back that called for the ham ends and I think that gives your ham spread so much more flavor than you would normally get.) I used lowfat mayonnaise and dijon mustard. I do not keep celery salt on hand but I did have Beau Monde seasoning which is basically celery salt and onion powder. My family ate their ham spread on bread, I had mine spread on sliced cucumbers. This was quite good. I liked that it didn't have over kill of condiments that overpowered the ham spread and it wasn't runny which I really appreciated. Next time, I would add more onion and celery but that's really only to make it stretch a little farther. As is, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My first reaction was, wow this is salty, but it really is very good. I don't think I'd change anything, other than I don't use caraway seeds. It tastes just like the deviled ham in the can from when I was a kid. At least I know what is in this deviled ham! I made mine totally in the food processor. Threw everything in and pulsed to the minced consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This very good. We both loved it. I used leftover ham. I omitted the celery salt because ham already has plenty of sodium in it. Instead I added 1/2 tsp. of dried celery for flavor. Also, as I was pureeing the ingredients, it seemed a bit dry, so I added about 1/4 cup of chicken broth. Probably won't be buying nearly as much ham spread at the deli counter any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puddymom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My husband asked me to make a ham spread and I had no idea what it even was so I found this recipe and tried it. It turned out SO good. My husband said it was awesome. We put it on Ritz crackers. When I went back for more my husband told me not to eat all his ham spread. Looks like I'll have to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Oh my this was good! I made a double batch, might need a bit more mayo and mustard bc it seemed a bit dry. Changed celery salt to celery seed and scaled it back a tad based on comments made by others in re the salt. Otherwise no changes, thanks for the awesome recipe, I'm keeping this as my permanent one for all time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Made it just like recipe ..lasted about 15 minutes at our party.. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vladycat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Very good make my own from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States