Homemade Deviled Ham Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I was able to get ham "ends" at my local grocery deli--I just cubed up enough to make 1 1/2 cups. (I made a ham spread a couple years back that called for the ham ends and I think that gives your ham spread so much more flavor than you would normally get.) I used lowfat mayonnaise and dijon mustard. I do not keep celery salt on hand but I did have Beau Monde seasoning which is basically celery salt and onion powder. My family ate their ham spread on bread, I had mine spread on sliced cucumbers. This was quite good. I liked that it didn't have over kill of condiments that overpowered the ham spread and it wasn't runny which I really appreciated. Next time, I would add more onion and celery but that's really only to make it stretch a little farther. As is, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This was so good. When I was a kid, deviled ham and cream cheese was my very favorite sandwich. The canned stuff is just awful, nutritionally so I made due with good memories. When I found this recipe, I knew I had to try it. I used fat free mayo, a very lean ham and left out the carway seed. I toosed it all into the food processor. I made a sandwich with this and fat free cream cheese... and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Very good make my own from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My husband asked me to make a ham spread and I had no idea what it even was so I found this recipe and tried it. It turned out SO good. My husband said it was awesome. We put it on Ritz crackers. When I went back for more my husband told me not to eat all his ham spread. Looks like I'll have to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I didn't have caraway seeds, so I left them out. It was good. I will make it again and increase the hot sauce a wee bit, just to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is excellent exactly as made, directly out of the food processor.. and even better if left to chill in the refrigerator for an hour or so before serving. I pulled it out, gave it a stir, set out some triscuits and it disappeared! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made 1/2 recipe of this for lunch today and I got about 2 servings. The flavor was fine, but boy was it salty! That came out to a 1/2 tsp of salts. I would make this again, but just do a small pinch of both. I followed the recipe exactly just omitting the caraway seeds, because I realized I didn't have them. I don't care much for them anyhow and I just chopped everything by hand. The salad will take on more of a yellow or orange color with the mustard and red seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Made this tonight. I had caraway seeds from my spice rack, but I'd never tried them before this recipe. I will skip them next time. Used my Ninja to chop it all up. Thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was really tasty. I used leftover ham from the holidays. My kids don't really like onions or celery pieces so I threw those in last and gave the food processor a couple of short bursts. They loved it on triskets. I thought the recipe was relatively healthy for a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This made tasty sandwiches for Mr. C & I today, and a great way to use up left over ham. Win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Rolls

These easy and tasty little sliders are perfect for game day.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States