Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
We usually make oven fries ^ enjoy them, but for special occasions or for an occasional splurge, want a *great* fry recipe, so we've been comparing french fry recipes from this site from time to time. First off, though we might fry something occasionally, I'm not sure how using a lot of oil to fry either homemade or precut fries is inexpensive. Secondly, IF I were ever going to use this batter again, I'd use just a pinch of baking powder. The fries from this recipe were really pretty decent fries, both when we used hotter temps and lower temps for frying, but not spectacular to us at all. At this point, my family has a strong preference for a modified version of 'French Fried Potatoes' from this site (we simply par-fry the fries for that recipe, and it's a major hit when I actually take the time to make those instead of oven fries). If I were making up fish and chips, I might work on modifying this recipe by baking the fries (mostly because of the cost of the oil and the calories - but also as a time-saver). In that case, battered fries might make sense to us IF I were using this batter for frying fish in a small amount of oil in a skillet and serving fish and chips with malt vinegar (in our family, that is not likely though - unless we end up with a whole lot of fish since I prefer fish other ways most of the time). These fries were fun to try, but again, in summary, to date, my family actually prefers oven fries or those 'French Fried Potatoes' after par frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
My husband showed me this recipe and I was very skeptical about it. As he was adding ingrediants I was giving that look that "Are you serious?!". But I was pleasantly surprised, it was simply delicious! I only want my fries this way now! Dipped in ranch dressing stepped it up to a whole new level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This recipe was delicious! I tweaked the seasoning measurements to my family's liking, but overall, the fries turned out GREAT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilo8611

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Super easy and my wife loved them (making me look like a rock star). I try to add different seasoning in place of paprika for a new flavor everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Awesome!! I just tried this recipe...a little skeptical because of the one review that said they were just "ok"...try them. They are delicious and SO easy! You will need more water then just 1/2 cup...I probably used closer to 1 cup, but I also used a white/whole wheat flour blend. Either way the fries were a huge hit with my family...so crispy and delicious. IF you want to add some more flavour add about a tsp of Tony Chachere's or some other "all salt" blend, but honestly it is really not needed. I can't wait to make these again and "wow" everyone with my homemade fries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was really, really good. Fries came out perfectly crunchy. I gave it four because seasoning was little bland. After first batch, we added Tony Chachere's creole seasoning and that bumped it up to 5! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
If you have not tried these, it is a must....the best I have had...I will never buy store bought fries again. Thanks for the share :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merelynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Instead of breading the fries one by one, dump all your ingredients in a gallon sized ziplock bag, add the sliced potatoes, and shake. SOOOOO much easier, faster, and a lot less mess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Thank you for the great recipe!!! These are wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Very good! well liked by all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States