Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I have been using beer instead of water and they are even better! Everyone loves these when I make them. They are SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Pomponio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Tweak it how you like but these are the best fries I've ever had & will make an excellent addition to our weekly Fish Fry. Yes I'm from Wisconsin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
It is a good base but needs more flavor. So I decided to hit them right after they came out of the oil. Variety First batch I showered them with garlic salt and pepper, second batch I dusted with chipotle chili pepper and garlic salt, then for kicks on the smaller final batch I hit them up with cinnamon and sugar. All three were great combos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Love This Recipe!!! My boyfriend does to, excellent for any type of fries/hashbrowns!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
3.5 it was okay, not bad. There's def something wrong with the water measurement, I ended up using around 1 1/2 cup :/ The fries are crispy but not enough flavor, will try it again next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Mmmm, these turned out very well! I also was worried that I would screw this up but they were very easy! I only made for 2 people so it didnt take too long, I cooked about 5 fries at a time because I only had a small pot. It would be hard to make these for a big family though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlejessmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
My whole family loved these french fries. Good flavor. I used garlic powder and onion powder instead of salts to cut down on sodium. Still had great flavor with all the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
AMAZING!!! Best homemade fries I have ever made!!! Great Recipe the only negative is they take while to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I LOVE how crispy it makes my chips. I joined this site after using it as a guest for so long, just to be able to say I'm glad I found this recipe. To be fair, I used different seasonings, but every recipe I've tried before involved either egg, or milk, or both. I never would have thought to omit them. Thank you Cassie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
We usually make oven fries ^ enjoy them, but for special occasions or for an occasional splurge, want a *great* fry recipe, so we've been comparing french fry recipes from this site from time to time. First off, though we might fry something occasionally, I'm not sure how using a lot of oil to fry either homemade or precut fries is inexpensive. Secondly, IF I were ever going to use this batter again, I'd use just a pinch of baking powder. The fries from this recipe were really pretty decent fries, both when we used hotter temps and lower temps for frying, but not spectacular to us at all. At this point, my family has a strong preference for a modified version of 'French Fried Potatoes' from this site (we simply par-fry the fries for that recipe, and it's a major hit when I actually take the time to make those instead of oven fries). If I were making up fish and chips, I might work on modifying this recipe by baking the fries (mostly because of the cost of the oil and the calories - but also as a time-saver). In that case, battered fries might make sense to us IF I were using this batter for frying fish in a small amount of oil in a skillet and serving fish and chips with malt vinegar (in our family, that is not likely though - unless we end up with a whole lot of fish since I prefer fish other ways most of the time). These fries were fun to try, but again, in summary, to date, my family actually prefers oven fries or those 'French Fried Potatoes' after par frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States