Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Delicious!! if you have to make more than one batch it's a little time consuming though. Next time I'm going to try the oven like some user's have suggested so that I can get them all in at once. Great recipe!! So crispy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I started off at medium-high heat as the recipe suggested and found I was burning the batter before the fries were tender. Turning it down to medium caused them to cook perfectly, they came out golden brown, crispy, and beautiful. That said, the batter itself could use a flavor boost. I swapped the Onion and Garlic salt to Onion and Garlic powder and increased the amounts to a tbsp. each, switched the paprika to smoked paprika in the same amount, used a tbsp. of sea salt and a teaspoon of white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I wasn't fond of the frying part since it turned quite oily. I'll probably try baking it as suggested next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I made these and followed the recipe to the t. They were extremely salty and I now don't know whether I'm gonna have a heart attack or fall asleep. I feel like they'd be much bbetter if baked iinstead of fried and much less salt. I'll try them modified next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Just used this for onion rings. YUM!! Cooked in about an inch of canola oil in a cast iron pan. Worked very well. Make sure the entire onion ring is covered or the part that is not covered will cook too fast and burn a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Awesome fries! I added 1/2 Tbs of cayenne to mine and that was just the right amount of kick to it. Even my 3 year old approves. Others may want to add more salt or seasons to taste, but they were perfect for my family. Note: Do not dip your fingers into the mix with cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Really good, we were all very impressed. This was an excellent recipe that I will most surely fix a lot more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I cut 2 russet potatoes (carefully) with the mandolin, no peeling first. I dumped these in cold water in a larger tupperware, covered w/lid, set aside while I used the flour dredge for homemade chicken tenders before using it on the potatoes. Drained and rinsed the potatoes a few times, then added the remaining egg and some water, and tossed away like it was shake and bake. Fried them up, and I was quite impressed with how tasty and quick my variation was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made these fries last night. I do agree that it does take quite some time to make a good portion. I think I may have had the heat too high for the oil, the kitchen got real smoky real quick. However, the turned out excellent! The larger ones were not completely cooked, next time I will cut smaller fries and lower the temperature on the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I don't really know what all the hype is about, unless I made these wrong. I followed the suggestions of the reviewers who BAKED theirs--350F for 45-1hr. The batter that I shook the fries in stay unevenly coated and tasted pasty. But the fries were cooked through so I guess that's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States