Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Excellent fries! Even using cheap potatoes, I got crisp fries. I used a deep fryer and added beer (lager) instead of water. For those wondering about dipping each fry seperatly...thin your batter just slightly (about a tbsp tops!) and put the batter in a medium-sized plastic container with a tight-fitting well-sealing lid. Add your cut potatoes, seal her up, then SHAKE for approx 1-2 mins to coat all the fries. This will evenly coat all the fries with batter and save you time in dipping them. When adding them to the hot oil, add them using tongs insead of your fingers...I took "tongs full" bunches and dropped them into the oil, let the batter set up ever so slightly, then seperated them by shaking the bunches until they came apart (about 1 min into frying). I'm impatient and while they didn't come out perfectly solo fries...the bunches were crisp and yummy too! Try adding cajun spices or chipolte pepper instead of the paprika, it gives them a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
865 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Kilmon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Church Creek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boiceville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
Instead of frying, I BAKED these in the oven, which took about an hour or longer, but they came out nice and crispy on the outside. I just used flour, seasoned salt, cayenne and basil, then added half water and half oil to make a batter. I will make these again the same way! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
776 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
LILSPINSTER's review was really helpful! I baked them the way she suggested (but for 45 minutes at 350 in my oven though... watch the fries after 30 minutes), and they turned out great. Great variation for those who don't like to deal with being splattered by oil or those who are watching their weight. They turned out scrumptious, by the way-- no more McDonald's for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
548 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coctilis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
WOW! These fries are literally the very best I have ever had in my life! Absolutely NO exaggeration! I was a little uneasy when I added water to the flour mixture, and I needed far more than 1/2 cup of water to make it liquid, so do not be worried if you end up with what looks like tartar sauce, because it ends up to be absolutely PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
My daughter asked for homemade french fries. I wanted to try this but she insisted she liked plain fried potatoes better, so I did both. Hers were soggy and bland. These (i added a dash of cayenne and a dash of black pepper and didnt measure anything) were tasty and crispy. I also put them on a cookie-cooling rack over a plate, and 2 hours later they were still yummy, whereas the others were nasty! It does certainly take more time than buying the frozen ones . . . thats the whole point of making home made -- the flavor, the experience -- if you want convenience, buy convenience food . . . if you want yummy home-made fries, try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
These were delicious! My best friend's husband actually told me I would have to come live at their house so I could make them whenever he wanted them...lol...I made them with the Easy French Dip Sandwiches from this site and everyone loved them! They are a little time consuming, but worth it. I did do it slightly different though. I made the wet batter and then made a dry version of it and coated each fry in each. This made it so that the fries didn't stick to each other. I also used our Fry Daddy instead of a pan. *UPDATE* So these were tastey the way the recipe was written but I wanted a more tender fry so went on the search and found that if you par-fry them first and then batter them you have a crispy AND tender fry! You peel and cut your potatoes into fries and place into water and refrigerate for 30 minutes or longer (up to 2 days), get your oil ready and place fries into the oil shortly (until tender...not brown). Take the fries out and drain on paper bag or towel, allow to cool enough to handle and then dip into batter and fry again. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
everyone really liked these fries, but they took a long time to make, 8-10 minutes per skillet-full and you can't put too many in to cook at one time or they end up stuck together. I was at the stove for almost 2 hours to make enough for my family of 13. I also discovered that it took more than double the amount of water the recipe called for and don't forget to pat the potatoes dry before dipping or the batter just slides right off. I will make these again if I can figure out a way to speed up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
These were great! I did add alot more seasoning to the batter because I could tell it needed more. I added some garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper and regular pepper to it. These turned out so crispy on the outside and soft in the inside. It doesnt say how long or what temp to cook these at...so for an example I set my deep fryer to 350 degrees and fried them for 6-7 min. My boyfriend loved these and said they was better than the bagged kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I just made this for dinner and we loved it. I used the batter with 3 potatoes and two chicken breasts (for buffalo chicken sandwiches, I just coated the chicken with hot sauce after frying). Yummy. So yummy my husband finished off mine when I wasn't looking. Some people mention not being able to cook enough fries at the same time. I would just use two pans to cook all the fries at once rather than finding a way to keep them crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I just tried this recipe and WOW!!. Both my boyfriend and I loved it. I didn't have the paprika, but it didn't matter. This is a very tasty way to make fries. This is one recipe I shall keep. I'd been trying to think up a way to make my homemade fries crispy. Thank you Cassie for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States