Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Yum. I fry things rarely and only cook with white flour at holidays and special occasions, but we were grilling burgers and fries (real ones, not oven ones) sounded amazing. I blame pregnancy. I had my doubts, but these were delish. I'm glad I'm eating mine now during the frying instead of with dinner, because between my three sons, the in-utero son #4, and my husband, these will go fast! I used onion powder instead of salt b/c it seemed a lot of salt. Next time I'll add pepper. I also fried in coconut oil since we avoid all veg oils and heating olive oil destroys its beneficial properties. Yum-o! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
These french fries were DELICIOUS! I loved the wet batter on them; it came out with a nice texture and great flavor! Definitely will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2buni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
My 3 year old daughter is really picky about everything. She loved these french fries. I tweaked the seasonings to my liking, but in the end they came out great. Will make my french fries like this every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SACMOM
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Followed this recipe as written except I didn't have onion salt, so I used Old Bay seasoning. I mixed batter ingredients in a large plastic bag, and added fries, sealed and shook. These fries are FANTASTIC! I made loads of these for our family movie night and everybody just loved them. Crispy and flavorful on the outside and tender on the inside. The perfect fry. Thanks bunches Cassie. This is now my go to french fry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SACMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Good stuff! I soaked the cut fries in cold water for about an hour after cutting, dried them, then followed the recipe. Very crunchy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My daughter absolutely LOVED these fries! Next time I will use more seasoning but overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Took my first run at deep frying coated french fries and based my batter on this recipe. I was out of onion salt so I replaced it with Garlic granules (because my garlic salt is old and didn't want to fight a second ts from the jar), added a dash of Cayenne powder and 1/2 tsp Baking Powder. Even without the Onion Salt the batter tasted way too salty but after deep frying was relieved the salt tasted just about right. The baking powder made the coating just a bit fluffy but still crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I have been using beer instead of water and they are even better! Everyone loves these when I make them. They are SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARA1295

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Tweak it how you like but these are the best fries I've ever had & will make an excellent addition to our weekly Fish Fry. Yes I'm from Wisconsin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
It is a good base but needs more flavor. So I decided to hit them right after they came out of the oil. Variety First batch I showered them with garlic salt and pepper, second batch I dusted with chipotle chili pepper and garlic salt, then for kicks on the smaller final batch I hit them up with cinnamon and sugar. All three were great combos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States