Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Cut in rounds and this was SO good! Need to up the water to 1 and half times what it says. 4-5lbs is right for our family but takes around 2 + hours to fry. Second time, followed second reviewer's advice for baking and these are GREAT! The fried version is far and away better but the baked version is a good substitute. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
These fries were awesome! I was in quite a hurry when I made them the first time, and didn't read the full recipe. So rather than creating a wet batter with the water, I used only the dry ingredients to coat the potatoes. I put the ingredients into a ziploc freezer bag, added the cut potatoes, and shook away! The only difference that I might recommend, would be to slightly blanch the fries in boiling water for about three minutes prior to coating and frying them. This technique cooked them ever so slightly before I fried them, allowing them to crisp much quicker on the outside and still be extremely tender on the inside. All in all, this will be how I make homemade french fries from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
REAAALLLLLY GOOD!!!! try it out excellent! made it exactly as the recipe (^.^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi2ta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
OK, these are amazing. They really are. As I began eating them while I was still making them, I was thinking, "The creator of these is a genius!" The only changes I made were to use 1 tsp each of onion and garlic powder instead of salt because most things are too salty for me. I still used the 1 tsp of salt & paprika. But they needed more salt so the recipe as written is probably perfect! I sprinkled more salt on while they were fresh out of the skillet & greasy. I used cast iron & peanut oil if it matters. And ate with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
AMAZING!! My family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Other than taking AGES to cook all the fries I had planned to cook, they turned out nicely. Next time I will use Peanut Oil to cook them in as I have heard that is better than vegetable oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sourgurl758

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
We made this last night and MAN they are good. I used a deep fryer because I didn't want the spashes all over the place (plus my 7 month old was wandering around lol). I took my time putting the batter dipped fries in the fryer, but in the end, I just started throwing them all in there, and 'stirring' it with a spatula to help them from sticking together. It helped, and they ended up not sticking together at all. Great recipe!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Smash hit at my house. My family can't get enough of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
best fries ive ever had my picky 3 year old loved them! im gonna try this batter with onion rings too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
These were a big hit. My boys were craving "Mojo Potatoes," an item offered at Shakey's Pizza in California. Instead of cutting the potatoes like fries, I cut them in round slices. I pan fried them until golden brown, then finished them off in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States