Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I recently tried some sweet potato french fries and they were excellent. I tried making them myself, but they always came out soggy. I decided to look for a 'seasoned' french fry recipe, and came upon this recipe. Easy to make, and they came out crispy and delicious. Will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
These were delicious! Easy and fast, too. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I do not have the patience Ms. Cassie had so I attempted small and thin fries. First batch I did exactly how she said. AWESOME! Second batch, ok, third batch...realizing although good, I put too much water as the batter is not sticking to the potato. Fourth and final batch I threw at least one small potato's worth. The batter ended up in clumps and the fries, batterless, were wilty. They all stuck together so I put them all on one plate to pick a part with a fork. Odd, but still really yummy. Best to take your time, however. I did not have onion salt so used onion powder. Ok, but felt I needed to salt a bit at the end. Wonderful if would have been fine with onion salt?? Thanks for curing my 10pm fry crave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Thse were just ok to me. The batter made nice texture, but I had to add a lot more seasoning before I really tasted anything. Maybe it's just me, and I like bolder flavors, or maybe I did something wrong. As for the batter and the technique, it's pretty good. To anyone wondering what these are like when they're finished: I would play around with the seasoning, but the batter is exactly like the beer batter they put on fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Thought this was great!! My husband enjoyed too, and he is a very picky eater. I changed things up though a bit. I substituted season salt ( a good amount) and added some chili powder. then instead of drying the potatoes and adding water to the mixture, i just grabbed the spuds from the water and did a "shake n bake" thing in a baking pan. I did mine all at the same time (don't do that) they all stuck together. Just added some more flour and season salt in between batches to keep the coating strong. Took me about 40min-1hr. for the complete process. Used a big pasta pot for the oil, put them in the oven to keep warm (at least 300 degrees) came out great. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MammaBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
These were very good! nice and crispy i did add alot more seasoning delicious!!! i will be making these alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Simple and delicious! I used the suggested method of putting the batter in tupperware with the potatoes and shaking. . . that worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I was craving fries and came across this. I totally LOVED them!!! My husband came home, breathed in very appreciatly and got right down to business! He couldn't stop saying how good they were! There is NO need for another fry recipe...we're keeping this one! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I really can't rate this since I baked it. This was a sticky mess and never crisped up because I didn't think to put oil on it or spray it with pam. I won't make this one in the oven again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States