Homemade Cream-Style Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I increased the garlic powder and pepper and added a half teaspoon of celery salt. This was just what I needed to thicken up/make creamy a homemade soup I made today. I like how flexible it is to make more personal for your own family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
You can find the dried vegetable flakes in most health food stores. The store I use had "dried vegetable soup mix" in bulk which can be bought in whatever quantity you desire. This worked fine for me. I was unable to locate this product in the grocery stores in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I made this dairy free by using coconut milk, and it turned out well in a casserole. This is my new go to recipe for cream style soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I have a lactose intolerance and cannot use dry milk powder, so I use a soy based powder and it works just as well. No one can tell it is a soy based mix and works wonderfully well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is awesome! It also makes the perfect amount to fit into a large mason jar. I tied it up with a ribbon and a note with how to use it and gave it to my mother. She can't really cook for herself anymore and really enjoys this comforting mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talkn3rdytome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is a great mix! The potato flakes make the difference. I've tried other mixes, but they are usually too thin and runny. This one is perfect every time. I buy vegetable flakes in bulk and add an extra two tablespoons for added flare. For those looking for vegi flakes at the grocery store, they are usually NOT in the spice isle. They are usually with the rice and beans or in the bulk food section. I also substitute salt-free poultry seasoning or salt-free all purpose seasoning for the bouillon granules for a low to no-sodium version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I made this using a full teaspoon of garlic powder and added a teaspoon of poultry seasoning so it would taste more like cream of chicken. Couldn't find any vegetable flakes but will probably add some dried parsley next time to add a bit of color. I kind of took a leap of faith in making a whole batch, but thankfully, it turned out great! MUCH better than canned cream of ____ soup, which I only like to use in certain recipes. This is healthier too and probably works out cheaper :) For the past couple years I've been making my own cream soup recipe using milk, chicken broth, flour and spices on the stove when I need a can of it for something, but this is certainly easier and tastes as good. Thanks so much for the recipe, I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This came from a Taste of Home recipe (2006), but for some reason the ingredients were changed in this version. Type in Google "Cream of Chicken, homemade dry mix" and see the original Taste of Home version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Rosalia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Great to have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I really liked the idea of making a homemade version of the cream of __ soups. I've used this to just add into other soups or chowders and it's delicious as it thickens. Thank you for this recipe Miss DeAnn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States