Homemade Cream-Filled Sponge Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I made these for dessert yesterday and hubby is still raving this morning! Seven people ate these and all seven absolutely loved them. Many comments... "the best"... "much, much better than store bought"..."so good...moist, not too sweet and great flavor", etc... I agree with every compliment. They are perfect! Followed the recipe except used a canoe pan and didn't chop the coconut in the processor. Excellent recipe with great instructions. I'm looking forward to making these often. Thanks for sharing, Caroline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I'm giving this five stars just for the gelatin idea alone. Fabulous! However, I did make minor changes. These were interesting to make. For our taste, we thought the cake was a bit too sweet as written, so I made it again using just the yellow cake mix and 1 tb. meringue powder. Worked great. I quickly rolled them in the gelatin mixture (not to overly absorb.) The outer edge seems a bit soft at first but firms-up nicely after gelatin sets. I froze them in a square cake carrier with some plastic wrap lightly covering them for added protection and put on the lid too. I can take-out however many I need to defrost at room-temp. about 15 minutes. Makes for an unexpected treat for company. Everyone I've served them to, thought they were extremely tasty. For a faster fix can pump-in whipped topping for the filling, (if desired.) Won't be as flavorful but very good still and lite. Thank-you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Freak'n awesome! I did use my own filling recipe, so can't rate that; used 1/2 cup veg oil as the only pudding I had was a 1oz pkg, but they turned out superb. I used a bar pan with about 1/4 cup mix per mold - mine took around 20 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Tastes great! I used chocolate cake and chocolate pudding (that's all I had) but they made it so good. VERY time consuming it took me at least 1 hour to make the boat like fixtures. I filled each half way but still had 4 tin foil boat things. Very delicious especially with cream on top. YUMMMMMMYYY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is a MUST save recipe! Especially since Hostess has announced it is going out of business.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Photo by Dawn Mataczynski
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Loved this recipe!next time I think I'll try lemon jello
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made this tonight ! OMG Excellent !!!! I did 2 round pans and cut each layer in half. Put Jello on crumb side and frosted the other with the cream filling, as I assembled the cake. Then just sprinkle coconut on the frosted parts, making sure to save some for the top of cake. This recipe is well worth the effort !!! Thank You for sharing. P.S.Instead of the jello you can use raspberry (seedless) jelly Add small amt. of water to thin it out and paint it on with a pastry brush. Muffin pan is much quicker if in a hurry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is a really good recipe, however, mine came out tasting like a cake and icing in the shape of Twinkies. I was a great treat and fun to make. Will definitely make more and may play with a chocolate version like another review mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrician
Home Town: Joshua, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States