Homemade Cream Filled Individual Sponge Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
my husband and kids really liked this and it was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
How is it that yellow cake mix is listed as sponge cake?? I made a Betty Crocker sponge cake and used a cream filling consisting of 1/4 C of butter, 1/4 C shortening, 2 C confectioners' sugar, 3 TBSP milk, pinch of salt and 1 tsp vanilla. Try it! It's better than the brand name. Took it to a church bake sale and they sold like hot cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
so i followed the advise of the people before me who said that i should us powdered sugar, and so far i'm not too pleased. i was hoping for something much more airy and less buttery. most likely i made it wrong, or i haven't eaten enough Twinkies to be able to compare but i don't think the recipe stacks up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
not the best tasting filling( only tasted butter) kinda greasy. but texture was awsome. used it to fill cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I made these yesterday. I needed something to make for my kid's lunches. I did the recipe exactly as stated. They came out great. Next time, after the cake has been taken out of the pan and cooled, I am going to put the cake in the freezer before I cut it to make the bars. Just make it easier with the cake partially frozen. I put them in individual sandwich bags and put in the fridge so they will have snacks for the next few days for school. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMIE5474

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by csdodson
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
These turned out really yummy! I took them to a church dessert social, and they were a big hit! Plus, they were surprisingly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csdodson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dayton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Great! My kids love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
These were soooo delicious! I used butter-flavored shortening instead of regular since that is what I had on hand, and it was still so yummy. My husband is not even much of a sweets fanatic and he loved them as well. At first I thought the filling was not going to turn out; it looks really runny at first when you add the milk and vanilla, but after beating it about 5 minutes it was perfect. I will try this again maybe with an orange or strawberry cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
For a recipe that attempts to be like a well-known filled individual snack cake, this one succeeds. My husband says that it is even better than Twinkies. Next time I will try the recipe with a chocolate cake mix. A really nice (not fancy) dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I made a homemade cake recipe rather than a cake mix. I also made cupcakes instead of a cake. The filling was a bit "gritty" and not very sweet so I added a litttle powered sugar. I split the cupcakes and filled them with the filling. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States