Homemade Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Excellent sauce. I chose this because there is no sugar, no salt and no pepper - so am happy with the tangy dressing. The amounts seem right on, proportions of dressing to vegetables is enough to coat but not swimming. I left had to leave out the bell pepper and celery but made up for the amounts by adding extra cabbage and carrot. Will definitely be using this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Used a pre-packaged slaw mix, so review is dressing only. The dijon gives it a little bit of a unique tang. Subbed apple cider vinegar and added about 1T honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I really enjoyed this coleshaw.I give it a thumbs up.When I go camping I make it up before hand and take it with me,can,t go wrong with this recipe.thanks for sharing. Glenn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This turned out great! It was a big hit with everyone in the house. I used Veganaise instead of mayo for a tangier flavor. If you usually enjoy really heavy coleslaw with sugar in it, this isn't the right recipe for you. I find this to be much better tasting and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Simply loved it ! I added a little less mayonnaise and more dijon. It took 20 minutes to chop up the cabbage and around 2 minutes to combine the engredients for the dressing. The dijon mustard made it different from other coleslaws. I added salt and ground pepper also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Thanks for the recipe! It was great! I hadn't tried making coleslaw before. The second time I made it, I just sliced some of the ingredients finely instead of grating because I was doing it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laney Bee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
At last a coleslaw recipe without sugar! I can't stand the idea of a sweet vegetable salad so this is a good recipe for me. I also added sliced cucumber and only had yellow mustard which I used sparingly. A crunchy lunch! It's a good base to play with...you could add curry powder or raisins or peanuts or chopped hard boiled eggs, parsley, you name it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
try adding some sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange Hill, Saint James, Barbados
Living In: Arch Hall, Saint Thomas, Barbados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
My family loved this slaw. The mustard just added a little difference, although I decreased the amount to 1 Tbsp. It helps to have a good dijon instead of an off brand. I will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
We didn't like the mustard in this. Also, it just seems that the addition of sugar and spices is a must for us when it comes to coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States