Homemade Chorizo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was yummy, but had to cut down on the red pepper flakes. I cut the red pepper by half and it was good for us. I made it with scrambled eggs, salsa and tortillas. Very good. Thanks so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
My guy liked this more than I did which is strange because I'm the hot and spicy pork lover of the family. I think it is pretty good but doesn't wow me. I did cut back on the pepper flakes just because I wanted to enjoy this and not suffer. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I agree with LaidyLisa. My husband is mexican and I wanted to surprise him because he loves chorizo con huevos. It was way too hot for him to enjoy. Perhaps I will throw it into some chili so I won't waste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I didn't like this recipe at all. The liquid added, drowned out all the other flavors. Another thing, chorizo is NOT supposed to be flaming hot, but slightly spicy with other aromatic flavors. This recipe is only meant for spice, and is not even close to being close to an authentic recipe, or even that flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaidyLisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I thought this was ok as a spicy sausage recipe but not chorizo. I'll have to try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
good but not what im looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Yum! My only change was to use 1/4 cup chili powder and 1/4 pepper flakes instead of the full 1/2 cup flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Chorizo pairs up nicely with fried potatoes, in addition to scrambled eggs. add a little cheese and you'll have a great burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Laveen, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
What my grandma always did is fried an egg in with the chorizo, then served it with a tortilla. It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Having never made chorizo before and for someone who lives in the Southwest, this recipe is awesome! Spicy, but not so spicy that your mouth hurts. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States